We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
Ranked #70 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 9, 2013

The room we had was extremely small, by reading some of the other reviews, I think perhaps we were short changed!! It was so small that it made the stay slightly uncomfortable so if you can avoid accepting room 516, do!

The receptionist on arrival was very helpful.

The bar at the hotel was "dead", so we only used it once.

Breakfast was ok. Not a huge selection, but it was all fresh. There seemed to be some confusion as to whether breakfast was included in our tariff (which it was), and we heard a similar conversation with several other guests over the week we were there, so if you are sure your breakfast should be included, stick to your guns because it probably is.

On the whole, a decent, clean hotel with polite staff in a great location. I don't think that the hotel "goes the extra mile", but we have no complaints apart from the size of the room.

Room Tip: Avoid 516, it is tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary m, Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback and delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your lovely comments will be passed on to the staff concerned and we do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

630 - 636 of 1,130 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

Lovely hotel with character
It is about 15 min walk from temple bar area , so accessible
Lovely large clean, comfortable room and excellent value for money (on lastminute.com)

I think this was better than staying in temple bar area itself as it is quiet !!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lord_Blackadder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary m, Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback and delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your lovely comments will be passed on to the staff concerned and we do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is a good hotel. Four star staff in a three star hotel. Rooms are clean. Not Alex Polizzi clean which they could work on. Extremely central. Right beside Pearse Street DART so excellent if you are travelling from Connolly/Heuston/to and from airport, etc. – obviously you need to make the connections for airport, etc. Very good breakfast. Would return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
Thank lulu rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary m, Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback and delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your lovely comments will be passed on to the staff concerned and we do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed for two nights. Room was on second floor, facing street. Noise wasn't an issue, but I wished I had daytime sheer curtains in addition to blackout curtains. Wanted some daylight, but it was all or nothing. Room is large. Good size bathroom. Bed felt larger than a king. Instant coffee/tea in the room. Hair dryer and base is bolted in the top drawer of the desk, which was a first for me. Décor throughout the hotel is traditional, but felt a bit dated. I can foresee a renovation in its future. Wished the Wi-Fi was free and consistent. Had to have the staff log me back in twice. Location is superb. Trinity College is right behind. Everything is in walking distance. Tour bus stop is just across the street. Cafes/shops surround (hotel has generic breakfast). Stay in Temple Bar is you're under 25. This hotel is a much better bet and value.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DC_Diva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary m, Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback and delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your lovely comments will be passed on to the staff concerned and we do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was our first time in Dublin and what a great hotel, we were made very welcome by all the friendly staff. The rooms were clean comfortable with all the creature comforts. The hotel is situated close to numerous bars and restaurants and a 15 minute walk to the temple bar area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpDublin, Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely positive comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your comments will be passed on to all staff and we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Dublin and The Mont Clare hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel was in a GREAT location. It took only a few minutes to get to restaurants and the busy area of Dublin; about ten minutes to get to Temple Bar. The room was nice and I have no complaints. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpDublin, Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give your positive feedback and lovley comments.
We are delighted that the hotel met with your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Great location, very short walk into town and no town centre noise (our room was at the back of the hotel).
Enormous comfortable bed, enjoyed breakfast, staff friendly and helpful, would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Having seen other comments: Rooms at the back of the Hotel are relatively quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Engelsman57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpDublin, Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely positive comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your comments will be passed on to all staff and we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Dublin and The Mont Clare hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#61 of 150 in Dublin
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Buswells Hotel
#24 of 150 in Dublin
1,553 reviews
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 150 in Dublin
3,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Address: 1-4 Merrion Street Lower, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Dublin
#41 Family Hotel in Dublin
#60 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#63 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $101 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The O'Callaghan Mont Clare is the perfect place for a Dublin retreat or adventure. Relax in Oscar's Bar, enjoy a sumptuous meal in Goldsmith's Restaurant and experience all the wonders the city centre has to offer. The classically decorated, traditional 3 Star Hotel Dublin is truly a home from home, full of character and charm. A former favourite of James Joyce, the O'Callaghan Mont Clare 3 star hotel Merrion Square is situated in an idyllic location, nestled away in a peaceful Georgian Merrion Square, moments away from the hustle and bustle of city life, where guests can experience Ireland's historical and cultural hub. A warm Irish welcome awaits every guest at the O'Callaghan 3 star Mont Clare Hotel. Our welcoming staff pride themselves on their knowledge of the capital's attractions, so whether you're looking for a city tour, the scenic route to Trinity College, or Dublin's best shopping district, they'll be happy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
Mont Clare Dublin
Mont Clare Hotel Dublin
o Callaghan Mont Clare Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing