We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Understaffed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
Ranked #57 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Understaffed”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Good location but barely any staff to be seen! The room was quite small, and the lack of wi-fi was the most inconvenient thing that happened on my holiday! They served alcohol on Good Friday at least!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahBrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dara M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear SarahBrz

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and i hope you enjoyed your stay in Dublin and in our hotel.
The hotel has wired and wireless internet throughout the hotel, so i was surprised to read your comments in relation to this.

Thank you for your feedback, and as always we take on board the comments of all our guests, as this helps us to improve on our products and service.

I do hope we hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    434
    168
    64
    36
See reviews for
153
434
63
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Terrible 30 min policy on free wifi to guests that book through a 3rd party site while people who book directly get it free! Ruined our break as could never get access to free wifi. Staff were friendly and embarrassed by situation but was nothing they could do. Surely the Internet should be built into the price!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lon1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dara M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback it is very important to us. We were sorry to hear about your comments on the Wifi. We have a complimtary 30 minutes per day and it is then charged per usage.
We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Had a girlie night planned in Dublin, so booked a twin room for our overnight stay. Travelled by bus to Busaras and hopped across to Connolly Station where we got a dart to Pearse Station. The hotel is less than a 2 minute walk from the station. Staff at reception were friendly and we checked in very quickly. Room was a tad on the small side but it was only for one night and it was perfectly adequate, clean and tidy. As this was a twin room, we were a bit disappointed at the frugal amount of toiletries and tea/coffee/milk supplies - not enough for two people. We stayed in room 228 which is just around the corner from the lift. It was very quiet in the room despite being so close to the lift. We were not disturbed by any foot traffic etc. Room service arrived before 9.00am to clean room which was very unwelcome as we had only hit our beds at 4.00am but perhaps we should have put the "Do not Disturb" sign on our door. They didn't disturb us and left when they realised we were still in bed. Breakfast was perfectly adequate and again the staff were very helpful. After quite a lively night on the town with our friends, my friend was quite thirsty when we arrived back to our room and we had both forgotten to buy some water and there was no water supplied in the room. She went downstairs to reception and returned to our room. Less than 2 minutes later, a member of staff arrived with a jug of iced water and two glasses. Tip top service. Many thanks and very much appreciated. The location of the hotel is excellent for proximity to Grafton Street, Trinity College, Merrion Square, Stephen's Green and city centre. No need for taxis at this location as everything is within walking distance and the area is quite safe. All in all, a very pleasant stay and we most definitely would return for our next girlie outing. I have to say it was really good value for money. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GingernutLongford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dara M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Gingernutlongford.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and i am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your girlie night in Dublin and in our hotel.

I shall pass on your nice feedback to all staff, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for your next girlie night in Dublin.


Kind Regards,

Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

If you are going to Dublin to hang out in your hotel room, then don't stay at the Monte Clare. If you are going to Dublin to see the city and the country and just want to stay in a clean, safe, friendly, accommodating hotel in a great location, then you should absolutely stay at the Monte Clare. My husband and I had a great experience there. We had a king size bed which only had 2 pillows but the staff promptly brought us more and fresh towels when we requested them. The location is great. We had a room that faced the courtyard in the back of the hotel so there was certainly no view but it is on a busier street so we were happy to not hear the cars driving by. The rooms are small compared to US hotels but a good size for Europe. The water pressure was weak in our room but tolerable. Overall, it was a great hotel experience in a central location with friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dara M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear MPKJ.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and i am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, both in Dublin and in our hotel.

I shall certainly look into the issue with the water pressure, and again thank you for bringing this to our attention.

I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards.

Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

An older but well looked after hotel near the center of Dublin - easy walk (4-5 blocks) to Trinity College, Stephens Square, Temple Bar - and right opposite Merrion Square. Was a little hard to find when we were walking from the airport bus as the signage was not easy to see, and the streets are confusingly named - had to ask someone after we walked by it a couple of times. The price seemed very reasonable for the quality and location of the hotel. The check-in was quick and easy, and the people were generally friendly. Only extra was €2.99/hour for internet, and we had to ask the front desk to print out our boarding passes when we left as the lobby computer also needed to be paid for - they did this with no problems. Rooms were a bit old but well looked after, and the beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinP3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dara M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear ColinP3.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review,and i was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Dublin and in our hotel.

I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.


Kind Regards

Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

I traveled to Dublin in a group of six, 3 couples. We stayed at the Mont Clare February 14th - 20th and had a very pleasant stay. We arrived very early in the morning on the 14th and we were exhausted from traveling overnight. The staff was very accommodating to our party and said they could have our rooms ready after we returned from grabbing breakfast. They recommended Kilkenny's a couple blocks down the street as it was a beautiful morning and we wanted to get a little air. (Excellent recommendation for breakfast, we ate there most mornings of our stay)

Our rooms were ready when we returned and they were nice rooms, very clean with nice big beds. We found the hotel to be well kept, the staff friendly, the location and rooms safe and the location very convenient and within walking distance to several places, Trinity College, National Gallery, shopping, pubs, restaurants, etc...

The hotel offers a restaurant for breakfast (but we didnt try it, we were hooked on Kilkennys) and a Pub. They will pour you a drink in the pub anytime even if it looks like its closed. The hotel was pretty quiet during our stay with the exception of the first night when there was a party or something going on in the pub, we thought that we may have to change rooms as we were located just above the pub but the staff assured us the next morning that they had nothing else scheduled so things would be quiet moving forward and sure enough, the rest of the nights were peaceful and quiet.

We found the hotel to be a very good value for the money but if you are expecting The Ritz then no, you will not likeit. If you are expecting a nice clean hotel with a friendly staff in a central location then I definitely recommend staying at the Mont Clare!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank PJM27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dara M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear PJM27.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and i am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Dublin and in our hotel.

I shall pass on your lovely feedback to all the staff, and i look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed here for birthday weekend at start of February. Hotel is in an excellent location - around the corner from National Gallery and Trinity College, 5 min walk from Grafton Street - and there are loads of pubs and restaurants within a stone's throw.

Room is a bit tired and old - but was lovely and warm and spotlessly clean so no complaints.

Got the room for a good price but I would say - beware the extras - ie breakfast, car-parking - even wi-fi! Come on guys - hotels all over Europe are offering free wi-fi as are the pubs and restaurants around the corner from you.........get with the game?!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tickle4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dara M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Tickle4.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and i am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Dublin and in our hotel.

The hotel bedrooms are currently undergoing a soft refurbishment, which will be completed shortly, and we shall take on board your comments in relation to the extra's.

I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome in back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.0 mi away
O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
0.1 mi away
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
0.2 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#25 of 153 in Dublin
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
0.6 mi away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
1,375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 153 in Dublin
3,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Property: O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
Address: 1-4 Merrion Street Lower, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Dublin
#41 Family Hotel in Dublin
#60 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#63 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The O'Callaghan Mont Clare is the perfect place for a Dublin retreat or adventure. Relax in Oscar's Bar, enjoy a sumptuous meal in Goldsmith's Restaurant and experience all the wonders the city centre has to offer. The classically decorated, traditional 3 Star Hotel Dublin is truly a home from home, full of character and charm. A former favourite of James Joyce, the O'Callaghan Mont Clare 3 star hotel Merrion Square is situated in an idyllic location, nestled away in a peaceful Georgian Merrion Square, moments away from the hustle and bustle of city life, where guests can experience Ireland's historical and cultural hub. A warm Irish welcome awaits every guest at the O'Callaghan 3 star Mont Clare Hotel. Our welcoming staff pride themselves on their knowledge of the capital's attractions, so whether you're looking for a city tour, the scenic route to Trinity College, or Dublin's best shopping district, they'll be happy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
Mont Clare Dublin
Mont Clare Hotel Dublin
o Callaghan Mont Clare Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing