We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
Ranked #66 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Monaghan
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Comfortable Hotel”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Comfortable Hotel close to the city centre, the price was great for this time of year. Checkin in was fast no waiting. The only issues I had was the following, it was very difficult to regulate the water temperatur in the shower, it was either too hot or too cold, the pressure wan't that great either. The Heated towel rail in the bathroom wasn't working either, not a mjor issue, just the towels were cold and the bathroom was cold also affter coming out of the shower. There was only one small tube of shampoo and shower gel for a double room. There was a lamp shade missing from one on the bed side lamps,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thesphinx23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dara M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and for your feedback. I shall certainly address the issues with the accommodation department.

Just to note, that the towel racks are not actually heated racks.

Once again., i thank you for your feedback, and i look forward to welcoming you back to the O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel.

Kind Regards.

Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    447
    189
    70
    41
See reviews for
161
452
66
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Very comfortable hotel in excellent location near Merrion Square, and just a short walk to Grafton Street. Friendly staff. Old-fashioned but in a good way - gleaming brass and dark wood as you walk into reception. We've stayed there twice and would stay again. Only serve breakfast, but good choice of restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: We were asked if wanted a front or back room. We asked for a quiet room and our back room on the 3rd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dara M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and i am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you once again for your valued business, and i hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ginjill
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Great room, my fiance got us the Lady Lavery suite, i was at a conference in the Street Hospital, and he travelled independlly but we got a fantastic room with huge bed and sofa and dining room table
Just a short walk to shopping and Temple Bar, on sat night we went to the Pigs EAR, in torrential rain we omitted to see the many awards this fantatic eatery has
No complaints..great hotel xx

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dara M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and i am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Dublin and in our hotel.

I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.


Kind Regards.
Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here Friday /Satueday 16/17 of november .Location was great with easy acess to shopping and sightseeing .Hotel was nice clean but in need of refurbishing .The staff were all lovely and helpful in all hotels. The breakfast was excelent with a good selection of both hot and cold .Carparking was was a central carpark for the three o Callaghan Hotels in the area a little distance from our hotel to walk back to and not so easy to see in the dark .No resturant between the three hotels was unuasual only bar food avable We found a lovely little Italian Resturant in Westland Row( Il Caffe Di Napoli) just round the corner from the hotel ,food was lovely ,service was good and prices were reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alenn052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dara M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and i was delighted to hear that you had a nice relaxing break with us, and that you enjoyed our hotels.

The O'Callaghan Mont Clare hotel is undergoing a soft refurbishment in January on the bedrooms, and we are also revisiting our food offerings to guests.

I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards.

Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very good, very central, disappointing the wifi was not included. There was also an issue with the ticket machine in the car park which meant I had to wait 30 mins for an attendant. Forgivable except the person leaving when I got there, told me she also had to wait 30 minutes...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebel_C_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dara M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and i was delighted to hear that you found our hotel to be convenient for all your needs.

Please accept my sincere apologies in relation to the issue you had in the carpark, as this is a very rare and isolated incident.

In terms of the WIFI, we offer very competitive rates on a hourly and daily basis.

Thank you once again for your feedback, and we shall certainly address the issues you have highlighted to us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed here for the second time. 2 nights fot a conference.
Location is great, within easy walking distance of most sights and the city.
The hotel needs some renovation, especially the bathroom, but it is convenient and offers good quality compared to it's pricing. Nice breakfast and very comfy beds,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dara M, Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and i am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Dublin and in our hotel.

The hotel is undergoing a soft refurbishment in January, so i do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel once completed.


Kind Regards.

Dara McEnenaey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Very clean and comfortable. Secure - you need your room key to access the elevator in the lobby. Breakfast was great. Only downside is lack of a restaurant. For dinner you have to go to their 'sister' hotel across the street. Not a big problem but worth noting before arriving. The food there was excellent as well.Friendly, helpful staff.
Had a great 2 night stay. Will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GentlemanJimOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dara M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and i am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Dublin and in our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards.

Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
0.0 mi away
O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
0.3 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 151 in Dublin
3,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 151 in Dublin
1,485 reviews
0.6 mi away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
0.6 mi away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 151 in Dublin
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel

Property: O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
Address: 1-4 Merrion Street Lower, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Dublin
#41 Family Hotel in Dublin
#60 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#63 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The O'Callaghan Mont Clare is the perfect place for a Dublin retreat or adventure. Relax in Oscar's Bar, enjoy a sumptuous meal in Goldsmith's Restaurant and experience all the wonders the city centre has to offer. The classically decorated, traditional 3 Star Hotel Dublin is truly a home from home, full of character and charm. A former favourite of James Joyce, the O'Callaghan Mont Clare 3 star hotel Merrion Square is situated in an idyllic location, nestled away in a peaceful Georgian Merrion Square, moments away from the hustle and bustle of city life, where guests can experience Ireland's historical and cultural hub. A warm Irish welcome awaits every guest at the O'Callaghan 3 star Mont Clare Hotel. Our welcoming staff pride themselves on their knowledge of the capital's attractions, so whether you're looking for a city tour, the scenic route to Trinity College, or Dublin's best shopping district, they'll be happy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
Mont Clare Dublin
Mont Clare Hotel Dublin
o Callaghan Mont Clare Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing