We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sussex

The Sussex
Ranked #22 of 2,526 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $32
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Irish, Bar, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Haemeenlinna, Finland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were lucky. We got last table on Friday (early bird) without reservation. This place is a hidden gem, your never guess on the street, that there could be such a good restaurant. Service was quick and really frindly. Food were excellent and 2-course menu for early bird 19,50€ is a joke. Highly recommended this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Skuuga13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    137
    20
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem on the Emerald Isle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

The Sussex is a beautifully decorated little gem, the attention to detail is fantastic.
The food was simple but delicious and unfussy - my style!
The service is excellent and we got a good view of the smiling chefs behind the scenes.
I will be recommending The Sussex to visitors to Dublin, there's a great old fashioned boozer underneath to complete the Irish experience with a pint of Guinness.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CatherineR0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Consistently Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

A relaxed and friendly restaurant where the food does all the talking. I eat here regularly for lunch and love the place. In particular their fish dishes are consistently excellent.......oh and their cheescake rocks!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IanThomasM00re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“super bar- Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Not only is the food really good here - but the atmosphere and decor is lovely. It is ideal for business lunches - which was why I was fhere. There are a variety of tables to cater for different group,sizes - some circular that allows for better conversation.
The food is simple but of high quality.
It is very good value.
Will be back

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 186338Jamesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great service, delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Really nice Irish/European restaurant in Dublin 4, great lunch and dinner menu, i had the Goats cheese salad a nd my friend has Chicken and chorizo plate, both fresh and tasty... will be back... thank you all in the Sussex

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank muff77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sussex also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Sussex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing