We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great service, delicious food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sussex

The Sussex
Ranked #13 of 2,397 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great service, delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Really nice Irish/European restaurant in Dublin 4, great lunch and dinner menu, i had the Goats cheese salad a nd my friend has Chicken and chorizo plate, both fresh and tasty... will be back... thank you all in the Sussex

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank muff77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    125
    17
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good as advertised, great family dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Thought this restaurant on top of M. O'Brien's bar was perfect for our family of five. Food was excellent. 3 of us enjoyed the price fixe 3 course menu. We were able to be our normal family-selves - that is, loud and goofy. No problem. Food was good - I particularly enjoyed my squash, coconut, chili soup. Also, my hake. Son and wife had an excellent linquini with mussels and prawns and two other sons had a steak they liked. Cheese board good, too. Overall, highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank IJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Good food, good service, nice atmosphere, excellent value...what else do you need. Will definitely return again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pac0450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Poor service, average food, warm wine”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We were early so there was plenty of time. I wanted one side dish that was on the menu but not on my meal choice, and this seemed to be really too much for the 'chef'. The menu was a bit misleading, and the red wine was served at 'room temperature' which at the time was about 27 degrees C.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank annaried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Friend had eaten here last week and said it was fab. My wife and I were not disappointed. Had an early bird meal here which was excellent quality and very tasty. Staff were very attentive and friendly throughout but not pushy. One of the most pleasant meals we have ever had in Dublin and we will definitely be back this year.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gasser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sussex also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Sussex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing