We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for lunch”
Review of The Sussex

The Sussex
Ranked #20 of 2,595 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $35
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I have eaten lunch in here over 100 times in the last year. It shouldn't have taken me so long to write a review! This restaurant is great for lunch. Reasonably priced, nice service, very very fresh food. The fish of the day is always good. I have never tired of the food in this place because it is so fresh and guaranteed to taste great.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    152
    22
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great food slightly off the main track”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

This is an excellent restaurant offering good food in pleasant surroundings upstairs from a great old pub. Salads particularly good in a city that doesn't do salads well. Friendly service and good value adds to the experience. Highly recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ynca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHROPSHIRE
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great food, very good prices , good location and excellent staff.”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We ate here before watching the football at the Aviva Stadium and it proved to be a very good choice. We first had a couple of beers downstairs in the bar and then enjoyed a three course meal. Everything we chose was very well cooked, well presented and good value for money. The guys at the restaurant were very polite and friendly. All in all a very good place to eat.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SUNLOUNGER123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hidden gem”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We found our way to this restaurant while visitng Dublin for the week. It is a bit off the beaten path but well worth finding. We found our way up the stairs and was pleasantly surprised by the warm, upscale, cozy environment and very attentive waiters. The food was delicious and the price a great value for all we ordered (fresh fish of the day). We wanted to try a variety of restaurants as we were only there for a week but kept thinking we should just go back to The Sussex again as it was such a great experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KathyPinAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Best kept secret in Dublin. The food was amazing. Fresh - farm to table. The atmosphere is warm and cozy - staff was great and the view of the kitchen always makes the dinner experience that much better!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank traynick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sussex also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Sussex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing