We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Dublin
Post
Inbox
Search

“Woeful but lovely place”

Lenehans Bar and Grill
Ranked #1,949 of 3,193 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $19 - $37
Description: Welcome to Lenehan's Bar + Grill - a friendly, local spot. We do pints, we do cocktails, we do simple tasty food. And, as it happens, we do parties too. You'll find us in the former Lenehan's hardware store in Rathmines, a statement building that has been transformed into a bar and restaurant with four special spaces and two outdoor terraces
Restaurant details
Description: Welcome to Lenehan's Bar + Grill - a friendly, local spot. We do pints, we do cocktails, we do simple tasty food. And, as it happens, we do parties too. You'll find us in the former Lenehan's hardware store in Rathmines, a statement building that has been transformed into a bar and restaurant with four special spaces and two outdoor terraces
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Saturday 18 Jan
Food disappointing but the service was appalling our waiter was rude and dismissive of enquires regards allergens, provided incorrect information even when challenged.
The owners need to pay attention, we would love to see this succeed the place is very nice and could be a real addition to Rathmines.

Date of visit: January 2020
2  Thank bryan087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had dinner on Sunday in Lenehans. We ordered a sharing platter (with roasted vegs, olives, bread and hummus), Gambas, chicken wings and grilled monkfish. Food was lovely cooked and service excellent.
My partner didn't like her wine (nothing wrong with the wine, just not of her taste) and had no problem to get it replaced after being given two other wines to taste. Also ordered cocktail out of the menu and didn't have any problems.
Communication among staff very good as every different waiter serving the table knew about personal likes commented to previous staff members
Waiters attentive but not intrusive.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank OnlyOscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2020

I ate at the Lenehan last eve. It was my second time to visit and I should have not given it a second chance. On both occasions the food was not good. My gambas were swimming in oil and the Caesar salad inedible. The tempura vegetable dish was just pure grease and the rice was rock hard.
The sane waiter on both occasions and last eve , he showed his annoyance when my friend asked to add a tip and he had to redo the card machine. If that wasn’t insult to injury. Both food and service leave a whole lot to be desired. Got my coat given to me and no thank you or goodbye! Sayonara!

Date of visit: January 2020
2  Thank Balasteros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2020 via mobile

A great new restaurant in Rathmines. We arrived without a reservation and were made to feel welcome and cosy on a cold Thursday evening. Staff were very nice and the food was delicious. We both ate fish and my Clogherhead monkfish was yummy. Sadly we were going to the cinema and so couldn’t stay as long as we would have liked but will be back.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Isabel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2020

Just left Lenehans .....
starter - main (burgers being cheapest thing on the menu) ..... 2 deserts between 4 ....
2 bottles of wine between 4 and an extra glass each
€80 per person ......
way too overpriced for a mediocre restaurant in Rathmines - disappointing ..... will not be back

Date of visit: January 2020
2  Thank grainneo735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lenehans Bar and Grill also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Lenehans Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing