We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but Could be Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kinara Kitchen

Kinara Kitchen
Ranked #460 of 2,543 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Kinara Kitchen opened its doors during October 2010 and is the sister restaurant of Kinara in Clontarf and Kajjal in Malahide.Kinara - translates to At the water's edge in Urdu. Our aim is to provide a relaxed and friendly atmosphere where you can enjoy Pakistani food using the highest quality of ingredients, which we hope you will keep coming back for more. Please drop in to our speakeasy style Upstairs Bar and Roof Terrace under the watch eye of Paul lambert.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
306 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Good but Could be Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We'd previously visited and been very impressed by the sister restaurant out in Clontarf, and so were eager to try out this when it opened up on our doorstep last year. We've since been in a couple of times and while we've enjoyed it well enough, we don't think that it's quite yet fulfilling its potential. The place is decorated in a very classy and comfortable style, and the staff are all extremely helpful and friendly. The menu has a good mix of traditional and less common Indian specialities, and everything served in a manner that you might expect from more formal dining; the pricing is also fairly reasonable. Our one gripe would be that they seem to be holding back a little and the various dishes that we've tried could all generally be a bit more more adventurously spiced; "mild" might be the preference for many of their clientele but the danger is that this tips into bland.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    43
    11
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“beautiful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

I can't understand why Kinara is only 257 on the list of restaurants in Dublin, behind some truly awful places.

The food here is AMAZING, and should be at least in the top 20 of restaurants to visit in Dublin particularly if you like Indian/Pakistani style food.

I've been here on several occasions and always look forward to the meal.

The quality of the ingredients really shines through, particularly the chicken, which puts a lot of other restaurants to shame. In fact their Makanwaia murghi is my favourite chicken dish ever!

The restaurant is right beside the Ranelagh Luas stop making it accessible to anyone coming out of town, or anyone living near a Luas line, and making the trip is well worth it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BubbleDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant with great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Great food, extremely friendly and professional service! The design and atmosphere of the restaurant could not be better. A bit on the pricey side though.

Helpful?
Thank Flointl
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

I have visited this restaurant over a dozen times in the last 8 months . I brought some guests there last nite and feel compelled to write this short review .quite simply the food has always been excellent .. But somehow the food is getting better . The last few visits the food has been exquisite . The staff are so friendly and service could not be better . This restaurant should get a Michelin star. It's is more expensive than your average Indian / Chinese restaurant but worth every cent.If you are vegetarian ( I'm not ) they have fresh sea bass every day draped over perfectly cooked fresh veg ! Wow

No not your average Ethnic restaurant .

Exquisite

Highly recommended

Tom

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tom b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Owner at Kinara Kitchen, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Many thanks for you comments on the food and staff, greatly appreciated :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent service great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have visited this restaurant on three different occasions and just felt I had to write a review. The food is fabulous and the service is excellent. It's probably very slightly more expensive than the norm but well worth it. Can't wait to find another excuse to go!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fk22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kinara Kitchen also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Malahide, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Kinara Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing