We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Bliss”
Review of Locks Brasserie - CLOSED

Locks Brasserie
Price range: $41 - $88
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Fine dining restaurant offering superlative standards of modern Irish and French cuisine.Locks also offers several choices of private fine dining rooms from an intimate single oval table in our Green Room for private corporate or family events to groups up to 20 people in our Silver Room and larger groups and celebrations for up to forty in one room or 75 in several rooms. Locks Brasserie is licensed to host civil wedding ceremonies, intimate weddings, receptions, lunches and dinners. Intimate weddings are a wonderful celebration shared with a select group of friends and close family, they seek a more exclusive and intimate feel. We believe that Locks Brasserie is an ideal venue to celebrate a stylish, understated, quirky, intimate wedding. Locks is blessed with several dining rooms which can cater for family parties or larger groups. The maximum number of people the restaurant can cater for in one room is 40 people. In separate rooms we can cater for up to 75 people.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Birthday Bliss”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I came here for dinner for my birthday and was pleasantly surprised; having heard of its reputation, I expected Locks to be fancy and up-tight. However, the atmosphere is very relaxing, with a gorgeous view of swans in the canal. The staff are very friendly and helpful, attend to your every need and pay attention to the fine details. The food itself was delicious- I had the pork terrine for a starter, the venison for mains and the crème brûleé for dessert, and my plate was left clean at each course. I had never tasted venison before and it was a great first encounter. All round, a lovely dining experience, I would definitely recommend Locks for a special occasion.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KLedden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    90
    30
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
687 reviews
417 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
“Outstanding service, great dining experience”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We're not often in this part of the city, but thought of trying Locks for the first time when nearby in a chilly January lunchtime.

From start to finish, the quality of service in Locks is extremely impressive. Friendly, good-humoured and always professional, they get the tone just right, and the attention to detail is obvious.

The menus, both set and a la carte are quite short. For starters, the curried mussels were fantastic, with the smoked salmon almost as good.

The mains we went for were a delicious, perfectly cooked ribeye steak, and a tasty, generous but not overfilling chicken dish.

It isn't cheap for the a la carte - a lunch without wine came to €95 - but it was a really good experience overall, and we'd happily visit again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Dublin has some of the best restaurants in the world. One of them is Locks. The food is superb and value for money if you have the seasonal menu. The atmosphere, service, quality are all excellent. The parsnip soup was a revelation and I chose the salmon for mains which turned out to be a low-calorie option which was a good thing! Yum!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank lauran1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“It once was my favorite in Dublin !”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Sorry not only losing a Michelin Star last year-unfortunately the overall standard of food has slipped beyond recognition.

Had dinner on a quite sunday evening before Christmas, and both service and particularly standard of food, was not up to previous standards.

This restaurant did know how to preform, in recent years, what has happened ?

It once was my favorite in dublin, and i hope they can get the quality back in 2014

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 481TrevorMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just Brilliant.”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Having eaten several times in Locks over the last 2-3 years the thing I have been imprest with most (apart from the quality of the food) is the use of seasonal ingredients and the diversity of the menu.
The food has never been anything but outstanding, and what I mean by that is that it it obvious that every portion of what is put on a plate in front of you is carefully selected for its position in the dish and prepared with skill and passion.
Presentation is second to none. The diversity of flavour is immense, and each dish leaves you vicariously anticipating the next.
This when combined with the excellent location and good service makes Locks the best pound for pound restaurant I have ever had the pleasure of eating in in Dublin. An excellent dining experience whether with a large group or having a quiet lunch. Every time I go back is better than the last, and has delighted significantly more in the last year.
Highly Highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Locks Brasserie also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing