We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Locks Brasserie”
Review of Locks Brasserie - CLOSED

Locks Brasserie
Price range: $40 - $87
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Scenic view, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Fine dining restaurant offering superlative standards of modern Irish and French cuisine.Locks also offers several choices of private fine dining rooms from an intimate single oval table in our Green Room for private corporate or family events to groups up to 20 people in our Silver Room and larger groups and celebrations for up to forty in one room or 75 in several rooms. Locks Brasserie is licensed to host civil wedding ceremonies, intimate weddings, receptions, lunches and dinners. Intimate weddings are a wonderful celebration shared with a select group of friends and close family, they seek a more exclusive and intimate feel. We believe that Locks Brasserie is an ideal venue to celebrate a stylish, understated, quirky, intimate wedding. Locks is blessed with several dining rooms which can cater for family parties or larger groups. The maximum number of people the restaurant can cater for in one room is 40 people. In separate rooms we can cater for up to 75 people.
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful Locks Brasserie”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My wife and I eat here one night as we were on a City Break and seeing Michael Buble at The O2. I had booked this in the UK after seeing the reviews on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. We have eaten at a number of Michelin Star and Non Michelin Star restaurants and this deserves its reputation.

It is small and it is following the Brasserie style, so it has a relaxed service atmosphere as opposed to other Michelin Star restaurants which can be "starchy" we thought was very appropriate.

The food was wonderful and we could not fault any of the courses and it was also great to see a number of young couples at the tables.

We would definitely return if we are in the area. We stayed at the Hilton Dublin, which is only about a 10min walk from the Brasserie along the canal a wonderful walk.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    90
    30
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well done”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Ventured here last night and enjoyed a wonderful evening with friends. Great food, wine and atmosphere. Opted for steak which was cooked to perfection. Delighted we tried it out, will be back to try dessert!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MagsK9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely spot, unforgettable food, relaxed atmosphere, and attentive service”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We went for dinner with a couple of friends we hadn't seen for a while, and found ourselves talking almost exclusively about the food. We were only in Dublin for about 48 hours, and I'm so glad we stopped here! It was a little tough to get a reservation, and I was surprised at the relaxed atmosphere and decor (I had supposed a restaurant with a Michelin star would be ridiculously upscale), but it was very down-to-earth and the waitstaff was uniformly helpful and accessible. The stand-outs food-wise were the pea soup, goat-cheese parfait, the lamb rump, and the creme brulee. I would highly recommend!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LEBdma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Delicious in the detail”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Early evening dinner was a real treat at this small intimate venue. Surprisingly busy at such an early hour in the main dining room with a high profile dinner obviously taking place in the upstairs private dining room (lots of chauffeured cars outside). One of us ate from the early bird menu and one of us from a la carte. It is a case of quality over quantity and a lovely relaxed delicious experience. A couple of issues included the prosecco should have been colder and the steak slightly over cooked but very edible. A friendly less formal style of service we felt appropriate for the atmosphere and approach (formal stiff dining is so pre-recession). Highly recommended and we would return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bosker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Very good, but surprising that it has a Michelin Star”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

The food was good, there was a decent atmosphere, but we really didn't feel like it reached the standard of Dublin's other Michelin starred restaurants, especially not when it came to service. The staff were not attentive, and dropped cutlery etc. way more often than you'd expect!

I suppose I expected a restaurant like Chapter One or l'Ecrivain, but there must be a difference in the ratings scale for brasseries. As far as brasseries go, it was top of its game. That said, we were out to celebrate a birthday, so I didn't feel like it had that special something that other Michelin starred eateries have.

I'd still very much recommend Lock's for a good meal that is definitely less formal and less expensive than we had expected. I'm probably being extra critical of them because of their rating as it did raise our expectations. Pearl has more going for it, and if would be more first choice out of the two.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gorettikid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Locks Brasserie also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing