We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”
Review of Locks Brasserie - CLOSED

Locks Brasserie
Price range: $39 - $84
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Fine dining restaurant offering superlative standards of modern Irish and French cuisine.Locks also offers several choices of private fine dining rooms from an intimate single oval table in our Green Room for private corporate or family events to groups up to 20 people in our Silver Room and larger groups and celebrations for up to forty in one room or 75 in several rooms. Locks Brasserie is licensed to host civil wedding ceremonies, intimate weddings, receptions, lunches and dinners. Intimate weddings are a wonderful celebration shared with a select group of friends and close family, they seek a more exclusive and intimate feel. We believe that Locks Brasserie is an ideal venue to celebrate a stylish, understated, quirky, intimate wedding. Locks is blessed with several dining rooms which can cater for family parties or larger groups. The maximum number of people the restaurant can cater for in one room is 40 people. In separate rooms we can cater for up to 75 people.
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary by returning to this very fine restaurant. What a wise choice. The food was perfectly cooked and the service was excellent. We went on a Monday evening and the place was packed out. The restaurant has introduced a € 25 set menu which is great value for such a top establishment.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Barney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    91
    30
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A delight”
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had a delightful evening in Locks to celebrate our wedding anniversary. There is absolutely nothing that we can fault. Everything from the attentive service, to the absolutely delicious food, to the excellent wine list, through to the beautiful ambience was absolutely top notch. And all for very good value. We'd heard and read about this place and always wanted to try it. Now that we have we're simply dying to return. For any visitors to Dublin if you're looking for the perfect romantic night out, this is it.

David and Melissa

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidandMelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very disappointing experience”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Our dinner in Locks last Friday night was one of the most disappointing dining experiences we've had and certainly not up to the standards one would expect from a Michelin star restaurant.

The service was patchy at best including a completely forgotten drinks order despite the fact that the restaurant wasn't particularly busy, while the food was not at the standard it should have been - particularly a starter of overcooked scallops and a main course of overcooked and tough venison.

Overall we were left with a general feeling of a substandard experience compared to the five star service we've had at other restaurants of this calibre.

Probably the most disappointing aspect of all however was that when we raised our comments privately with Locks the e-mail response we received was that as the prices are lower than other Michelin star restaurants we should not expect the same quality. I 'm sorry Locks but we expect quality and good service every time we go for dinner no matter where it is, Michelin star or not. We have gone for dinner in restaurants in Dublin such as Tribes in Sanydcove where the food was a fraction of the price and the experience was five-star plus. And furthermore we wouldn't consider the Locks bill of €105 for a three-course meal for two (excluding wine) to be a cheap night. A four-course dinner for two people in Chapter One is €130 and we leave that restaurant feeling like we have been treated like royalty.

Our recommendation to anyone reading would be to save yourself the taxi fare to Locks and dine in one of the fabulous restaurants in Dublin city centre where you get value for money and top service all under one roof. And where you leave the restaurant feeling like you were a valued customer and that your dinner together was worth the wait and something you'd like to repeat in the future.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Michelle_Kilkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etang la Ville
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very well worth the taxi ride”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Lock's Brasserie is certainly worth taking a taxi to eat at - and a pleasant walk back to the city centre afterwards. A good value lunch menu (though à la carte is another order of price category altogether) included a very tasty jerusalem artichoke soup and a most enjoyable well-sized fish pie to follow. Excellent bread is served. The wine was too expensive for what was on offer. Charming and attentive service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RichardHadley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naas, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Terrible service and food pretty average”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Some friends and I recently dined in Locks Brasserie. Upon entering, we didn't receive much of a welcome, no offer to take our coats, etc. No problem at that stage really, as we figured they weren't that kind of restaurant perhaps.

To start we ordered the Confit Duck dumplings, Goats Cheese & Onion Parfait and the Smoked Haddock Brandade. They were nice, no complaints, though we felt the portions were a bit on the small side.

For our main courses, between all of us we ordered the Fish Pie & Chips and the Venison. As the waiting staff brought our food, there was no description or explaination of what was on the plate. Again no problem, perhaps that's not the kind of service they're looking to offer at Locks. The Vension was nice, although nothing special for a Michelin star restaurant and the presentation really did lack some flair. Unfortunately it all went downhill with the fish pie. After the dishes had been brought out, we actually laughed at the 4 little celeriac chips on the side of the pate! Upon tasting it, it was described by my fellow diners as a soggy mess with a few bits of fish thrown in. One of them tried to eat as much as they could as they were hungry, but the other just could not eat much of it and gave up.

When the waiter came to take our plates, he asked was everything ok. My fellow diner was quite honest and said, "no it really wasn't very nice. Very disappointing. I didn't enjoy it, sorry". To which his reply was "that's ok"! No apology, no offering to get the manager / head waiter if we was not equiped to deal with complaints. No looking for further information so that he may relay it back to the kitchen. My friend felt she was the one apologising for not liking the food!

We then ordered dessert, which was better. When the bill arrived, we realised nothing had been taken off the bill, despite our complaint. We called over what seemed to be the head waiter and we asked had our complaint been passed on as we were still being charged for the dish in question. He literally said nothing and came back with an amended bill with the particular main course and her starter taken off, again saying absolutely nothing to us. Great, they took it off the bill, but where was the apology, explaination or customer service?

We definately will not be returning.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Emiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Locks Brasserie also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing