We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the wait!”
Review of Kilmainham Gaol

Kilmainham Gaol
Book In Advance
More Info
$37.59*
and up
Dublin Freedom Pass: Unlimited Transport and Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing
Ranked #1 of 530 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This bleak old jail was notorious in the 19th century for its harsh treatment of prisoners.
2 reviews
“Well worth the wait!”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We had about an hour and a half wait to get in but the tour was well worth the line. Part of the wait was outside in the elements, so be sure to bring a jacket. Part of the wait was inside a visitor center where they had all sorts of displays and additional information. The location was a little tricky to find and was a little bit of a walk from James's Metro Train stop. Suggest getting to the gaol early in the day.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Relicthered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18,143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12,549
    4,314
    904
    196
    180
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Interesting Tour”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

If you are interested in history especially Irish history this is a great tour!
The yard were the 1916 rebels were killed is part of the tour and is very sombre.
Very informative not just for tourists but for Irish people as well.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhaven, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
89 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit.”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I am not Irish and knew very little about Irish history. By the time I left the Gaol I had a good appreciation of the history of the place and it was quite an experience. Make sure to look around the museum also, it made me cry and I wouldn't have missed it for anything.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank jackduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not a pretty place, but for me, a must”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

if you are anything into history you would understand more about the Irish and a little more about that past that we tend to forget, after the big battles.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Haidee83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

A great way to learn not just about the prison, but also some history on Dublin and the rest of Ireland.

The tour is guided and very informative.

Any of the tourist buses drop off at entrance.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilmainham Gaol also viewed

 

Been to Kilmainham Gaol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing