We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit,but got a feeling we were rushed threw the tour.”
Review of Kilmainham Gaol

Kilmainham Gaol
Book In Advance
More Info
$37.59*
and up
Dublin Freedom Pass: Unlimited Transport and Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing
Ranked #1 of 530 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This bleak old jail was notorious in the 19th century for its harsh treatment of prisoners.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit,but got a feeling we were rushed threw the tour.”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We arrived at good time,a walking tour was on every half hr.first your invited to view the museum before the tour begins there's 3floors of intresting displays,there was a crowd gathered soon and the tour begin I'd say if u can get a chance try go on a tour that's not crowded it will giv u a chance to walk around the rooms/cells and take in more of what is around u plus ask more questions on what happened there,it's really a intresting place to visit but depends on the tour group size

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tomtom101007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18,142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12,549
    4,314
    904
    196
    179
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fernandina Beach, Florida, Usa
Level Contributor
124 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Well informed tour”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Spouse had always wanted to visit, ever since hearing the song "Grace" sung by, I believe, Anthony Kearns. We had a very knowledgeable guide. Had to wait about 20 minutes for the tour to start, but there were several exhibits in the waiting area to keep us entertained. Good background history of the "Rising".

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank flyplayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very interesting historical building”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

It was a great tour. It takes quite awhile to make it through everything but it is well worth it. The building's architecture is amazing. Our tour guide was informative and clearly knowledgeable about the subject.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alex E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top tour”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

A fascinating tour with excellent guides who provide a brief but interesting insight into some of the most famous events in Irish history.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LinSDerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Fascinating Tour”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Kilmainham Gaol has the most enthusiastic and knowledgeable tour guides I've ever experienced. We were shown around the historical building in about an hour and given huge insights into Irish history and their independence. The stories are very moving and fascinating. We only paid €2 each as we're students, but I would have happily paid much more.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilmainham Gaol also viewed

 

Been to Kilmainham Gaol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing