We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A landmark You must see!”

National Museum of Ireland - Natural History
Book In Advance
More Info
$39.43*
and up
Dublin Freedom Pass: Unlimited Transport and Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing
More Info
$57.35*
and up
Dublin Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off Tour and Entry to Over 30 Attractions
Ranked #54 of 540 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The ground floor of this museum is dedicated to Irish animals, featuring giant deer skeletons and a variety of mammals, birds and fish. The upper floors of the building were laid out in the 19th Century in a scientific arrangement showing animals by taxonomic group.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Norway
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“A landmark You must see!”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is the original unaltered Victorian Museum. In my opinion still pedagogically superior to most modern institutions. But of course far more exspensive to establish than the modern thing.
I do not know of any other comparable institution worldwide. 30 years ago i could have suggested a dozen. So grab this opportunity while it lasts!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank langvass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    318
    163
    51
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Decent museum”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Not bad for a free museum. We saw several different types of stuffed birds, insects, bears, lions, etc.

2 floors of stuffed animals and fossils. Very simple layout. There was even story time for kids.

Worth a visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank NY2theWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great for all ages”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Not open on Mondays, this is a lovely place to spent a few hours on a rainy day in Dublin if you are visiting with kids

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank POPIEDUBLIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandon, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good fun for the kids.... And educational also”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

How do you get young kids into a museum and get them interested in the displays?...... bring them to the natural history museum in Dublin. My kids thought it was "cool" & "gross" at the same time. So did I.

We were all fascinated by the displays, especially those that had the stuffed animal displayed next to just it's skeleton.

You could easily spend an hour or two in this place with the kids and longer if you we're on your own.

I would definitely recommend all parents to bring their kids to this museum and best of all..... It's free!!!!

The only disappointment for us was that there was no dinosaur skeletons there.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank imalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Like being in Stephen king's "pet cemetery"”
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

This place is an absolute joke and has no right whatsoever to claim it is a museum of natural history. Putting the skeleton of an animal next to its stuffed partner does not make it history!!!! In a museum you at supposed to learn something, there are absolutely no information cards about Any of the animals. It's great for toddlers who want to marvel at all the animals but it should be advertised as such. I cant believe me and my partner walked around for ages trying to find this appalling spectacle.

Helpful?
1 Thank Josephine2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NM I, Social Media Executive at National Museum of Ireland - Natural History, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
That you for your feedback, we are sorry that the NMI: Natural History did not live up to your expectations. The building is a ‘cabinet-style’ museum designed to showcase a wide-ranging and comprehensive zoological collection, and has changed little in over a century. Often described as a ‘museum of a museum’, its 10,000 exhibits provide a glimpse of the natural world that has delighted generations of visitors since the doors opened in 1857. The Museum itself is an artefact and showcases how the earliest museums were formatted, however with the introduction of the discovery zone, where patrons can handle taxidermy and bones as well as relax in the reading area, we are endeavouring to adopt modern interactive practices without undermining the unique features of this functioning antique.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Ireland - Natural History also viewed

 

Been to National Museum of Ireland - Natural History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing