We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The jeanie johnston is a must see”

Jeanie Johnston Tall Ship and Famine Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$11.95*
and up
Jeanie Johnston Tall Ship and Famine Museum Tour in Dublin
More Info
$57.35*
and up
Dublin Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off Tour and Entry to Over 30 Attractions
More Info
$34.65*
and up
2-Hour Liffey River Kayaking Adventure in Dublin
Ranked #31 of 540 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rated as one of the most popular attractions in Dublin, a visit to the Jeanie Johnston Tall Ship and Famine Museum will intrigue and fascinate all ages. Over 1 million people left Ireland during the 1840s at the height of the Great Famine, fleeing starvation and hoping for a new life in America. This mass emigration created a huge diaspora of people with Irish ancestry in the Americas, and later in Australia. The life-size wax figures in the museum below deck on the Jeanie Johnston are all modelled on actual passengers who made the journey to North America on the ship. Daily tours begin AT THE SHIP which is located on Custom House Quay just downriver from the International Financial Services Centre and across the road from Jury's Inn Hotel.
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The jeanie johnston is a must see”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The Jeanie Johnston is an amazing ship with an amazing story. Our guide, Laura, was very friendly and informative. We learnt about both the original Jeanie Johnston and her replica. The whole trip only takes about an hour, but in that time we were introduced to some of her passengers and her 17 strong crew. I feel tough however, we could have spent a bit more time on board although we were able to look around after the tour.

I would highly recommend this tour.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 990sarah_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    663
    291
    64
    21
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting and engaging”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Our students thoroughly enjoyed their visit to the Jeanie Johnston. Our tour guide, Paul, was particularly excellent; he engaged the entire crowd and was happy to answer any questions we had. It was a beautiful day and we enjoyed exploring the top deck after our downstairs tour. The Jeanie Johnston represents an important part of Irish history and the tour is interesting and perfectly suited for both tourists and locals alike.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BostonCollegeIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was one of our favorite tours in Dublin. The tour guide, Paul, was excellent - very enthusiastic, knowledgeable, and engaging. I was totally wrapped up in the tale of the Jeanie Johnston, and the people who had traveled on it. I highly recommend it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank fr c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A nice way to spend an hour in Dublin”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

At €20 per family, this is not an expensive hour with the kids in Dublin! The tour guide was so impassioned about his job as if he was just telling the story for the first time. The stories were very interesting and even held my two kids attention for the duration. I was a little disappointed that we didn't get to see more of the ship below deck but overall I would certainly recommend it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trippy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good but not quite what it purports to be”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We visited this and on arrival found the office locked up with a sign saying that it would open just before the next tour (an hour away as we had just missed the previous tour). When the previous tour got back and the office was opened he apologised for the fact that he was on his own and hence doing everything. There were three other people besides ourselves on our tour which meant it was easy to hear what he was saying. The tour starts upstairs with some history before you go below deck to be told a bit more about the captain and some of the passengers. It is a very interesting tour but there is no 'museum' so to describe it as such is somewhat misleading and it is very short (for us 40 mins from start to finish but then our group had very few questions) so it is only just value for money.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank suep202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jeanie Johnston Tall Ship and Famine Museum also viewed

 

Been to Jeanie Johnston Tall Ship and Famine Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing