We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great irish theatre”
Review of Abbey Theatre

Abbey Theatre
Ranked #44 of 530 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Abbey Theatre's founders W.B. Yeats and Lady Gregory had the vision to 'bring upon the stage the deeper thoughts and emotions of Ireland'. Our ambitious artistic programme of classic Irish drama and new Irish writing holds a mirror up to Irish society. Over the years, the Abbey has nurtured and premiered the work of major Irish playwrights such as Marina Carr, Frank McGuinness, Tom Murphy and a new generation of writers such as Richard Dormer, Stacey Gregg, Nancy Harris and Elaine Murphy. We also nurture a new generation of Irish artists through our artistic development programmes and commitment to discovering new acting, writing and directing talent.
Dublin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great irish theatre”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Have been to a number of plays and all have been great. Have to recommend this as the plays they have on are always a great view and from really good playwrights

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    128
    13
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
168 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“High quality theater”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

So glad we decided to see a play here during our visit to Dublin. The quality of the theater (acting, production, design) was top notch.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RandBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Combine tour and performance”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Like another reviewer, we saw Twelfth Night. However we enjoyed the innovative performance. It was enhanced by the fact we did the backstage tour that afternoon and learned a lot about how the performance was put together . Our tour guide was Colin who was fantastic. In between the tour and the performance we went around the corner to Lanigan's pub for a quick tasty meal. I booked the tour and performance online several months before our trip.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank IFO2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
368 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“The theatre or the performance?”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

The reviewers seem confused. Are they reviewing the theatre or the performance? We walked to the theatre and felt a tad uncomfortable. it's in a shabby part of the City, no grand edifice standing alone, no distinguishing architecture. In fact, from the outside it looks like an old style cinema. Inside is more the classic theatre setup. The seats are comfortable and well banked. The acoustics are excellent. But no dazzling or innovative décor. We conclude that it is the history that makes it so special.
We saw a modern version of "Twelfth Night.'" It was a bold, adventurous effort using some interesting musical effects. Once you were attuned to the rhythm it became quite interesting. Personally, I prefer the traditional version but full marks for their brave approach. The critics were mixed and generally unkind to the actors in the minor parts. We would have agreed. In summary, a very pleasant visit but not outstanding. Neither the theatre nor the performance quite met our hopes and expectations. We were hoping for excellence.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank AJ&ERtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Deadly Dull Tour”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

This fine theatre offers a guided tour which we took in May. While I'm sure they have some guides who are qualified, ours was deadly dull. Her name was Patricia. In the hope that this review may result in some improvements, let me provide further details:

Miss Patricia prattles, adding endless details that just aren't interesting or necessary. Hence, our tour was way too long, and she even commented that we had exceeded the normal schedule by about 30 minutes. Let's get a script and stick to it!

The power point was very bad and dull. That needs to be edited. A discussion of the theatre's mission statement cannot be made engaging. And we certainly don't need disparaging comments about someone who claims to have started the theatre, but really didn't. And finally, let's not spend five minutes talking about the big old medallion or shield that used to hang on the walls.

There's not really much to see beyond what would be available during a theatrical production and intermission at the bar, so it's important to make full use of what's available. For example the bar area upstairs has some great paintings and there are a lot of other works of art throughout the theater. These are worth some attention, but the discussion we had went on way too long and didn't cover some important works.

The theatre should assign a director to monitor these tours; they lack "theatricality" and an attention to the physical needs of a crowd being routed through the back halls. Much was lost because of the presentation. A discriminating director will notice what's wrong. For example, we spent about 10 minutes in a hallway looking at a closet full of old shoes while Patricia explained to a group of three or four some other visual attraction that only they could see.

Overall, the group was really too big and spread out to handle in the narrow corridors backstage.

Overall, unfortunately, the tour gave you no reason to love the Abbey Theatre. And that is a tragedy.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank RichardBoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abbey Theatre also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Abbey Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing