We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saw Sive - blown away by the acting!”
Review of Abbey Theatre

Abbey Theatre
Ranked #44 of 530 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Abbey Theatre's founders W.B. Yeats and Lady Gregory had the vision to 'bring upon the stage the deeper thoughts and emotions of Ireland'. Our ambitious artistic programme of classic Irish drama and new Irish writing holds a mirror up to Irish society. Over the years, the Abbey has nurtured and premiered the work of major Irish playwrights such as Marina Carr, Frank McGuinness, Tom Murphy and a new generation of writers such as Richard Dormer, Stacey Gregg, Nancy Harris and Elaine Murphy. We also nurture a new generation of Irish artists through our artistic development programmes and commitment to discovering new acting, writing and directing talent.
Trim, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Saw Sive - blown away by the acting!”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I saw the matinee show of Sive yesterday. It is excellent. Not only is it an engaging story but the acting of all involved was beyond brilliant. I chose the cheapest seat, the very front row. It was, as I expected (being the cheap seat) a bit uncomfortable as I was looking slightly upwards. The sound was brilliant but then again I was very close. I wouldn't hesitate to go back again and I highly recommend this production (though I believe it is to end soon, so hurry!).

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CollyFlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    128
    13
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Sive Is Excellent- Brilliant Irish Drama. John B Keane's Work Is A Masterpiece”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I recently saw Sive in the Abbey Theatre and thought it was brilliant. The set on stage was very well designed. The actors portrayed the characters so real. Credit the young actress Roisin O' Neill playing Sive. A star for the future. Also the actresses playing Mena & Nana Glavin. John B Keane has done other incredible work which has been performed on stage like The Field, The Year Of The Hiker, Big Maggie and lots more. The Abbey Theatre is always a relaxed venue to see a play. Also their bar staff are friendly and they don't charge very high prices compared to other theatres in Dublin like the Bord Gais Energy Theatre.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank frodoireland_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Irish theatre at its best”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Being a great fan of Irish plays I've always fancied seeing one performed in the country of origin. On our third trip we token the opportunity to see Sive by John Keane. What an experience!

The theatre is well located just North of the Liffey off O' Connell street. With plenty of bars and restaurants close by it makes for a great evening out. Even though this is the national theatre of Ireland we were surprised how relatively cheap the tickets were. The design of the interior is astounding. With seats facing the stage like an amphitheatre, completely unimpeded views provide an intimate engagement with the acting.

And what acting! A first class performance of a dramatic and emotional play full of touches both comic and tragic. It was wonderful to see the passion of the language told through the voices it was written for. I challenge anyone not to be moved by this play.

I heartily recommend that if you get chance do not fail to take the opportunity to see Irish theatre in the capital of Ireland.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Settefinestre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“SIVE - amazing”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This production of SIVE was wonderful. Humerous and heart wrenching. A great testament to John B Keane.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Knocktoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We took a tour of Abbey Theatre and enjoyed every minute. Our guide was enchanting-full of enthusiasm and respect for this theatre's historical past. His knowledge and repertoire of the Abbey's past was most interesting. The tour included backstage and costume areas lasting well over an hour. Truly worth the visit especially if you're a theatre buff!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abbey Theatre also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Abbey Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing