We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“got a tour”
Review of Abbey Theatre

Abbey Theatre
Ranked #45 of 532 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Abbey Theatre's founders W.B. Yeats and Lady Gregory had the vision to 'bring upon the stage the deeper thoughts and emotions of Ireland'. Our ambitious artistic programme of classic Irish drama and new Irish writing holds a mirror up to Irish society. Over the years, the Abbey has nurtured and premiered the work of major Irish playwrights such as Marina Carr, Frank McGuinness, Tom Murphy and a new generation of writers such as Richard Dormer, Stacey Gregg, Nancy Harris and Elaine Murphy. We also nurture a new generation of Irish artists through our artistic development programmes and commitment to discovering new acting, writing and directing talent.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“got a tour”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

got a tour of the abbey theatre,my god the history of this place,the tour guide knew everything there was to know.I cant describe the history of the abbey there is 100 yrs of it,and its just amazing,do this tour,do this tour

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank shanecar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    128
    13
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Drumbelly”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The play Drumbelly is set in 1960s Brooklyn and is about the tensions and struggles between rival Irish and Italian gangs. The story is about a large sum of money that has gone missing.
The action is fast paced and the language used is explicit. There is a lot of violence also in the play. I found the dialogue to be crisp and snappy with some very dark humour. However a word of warning this play is not for the faint hearted as some of the scenes are brutal. In conclusion I would highly recommend this play to anyone who likes modern crime drama with as I have already noted the proviso about strong language and violence.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthsideEddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stunning production”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We saw King Lear here earlier this year and it was an incredible production. Venue is excellent, very comfortable and all seats have a good view. Peacock theatre also worth a visit for smaller scale productions and short plays. We also went on the back stage tour and really enjoyed it. Abbey has some amazing art on the wall and worth it for that alone!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank sugaredpill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great experience, terrific value, real pros in action”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I am a member of the Abbey matinee club and for a reasonable fee my wife and I get to see three different plays during the year. The matinee is the best time to see plays for me, I will give Irish Rail a mention as the train service from Sligo (my home town) to Dublin is exceptional. I went to see King Lear. I can only add to the many plaudits it has got from other reviewers by saying 'my darling wife enjoyed Shakespeare'this is really criticism at it's best. The Abbey, for those of you who never attended a play here is a lovely theater, very handy to get to and the prices are competitive.The seats are comfy and you can see over the head of the giant that sits in front of you. The drinks at the bar are a wee bit O.T.T and it is hard to get served. However I have a real complaint...The toilets! for so many people there isn't enough and while the men's have a quick turnover, the ladies have to queue. Pity the person who had a few too many and is standing there, legs crossed, waiting. Other than that, I can recommend the Abbey, the staff are really friendly and helpful, the ambiance of the place is terrific...book first.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank trucker209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Theatric”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

What an experience! Plays that are on the Leaving Cert curriculum often turn into a text delivery but not this one. This is a wonderful production. Lots of standout performances: Owen Roe was amazing, Aaron Monaghan equally amazing. It's quite a difficult and turgid play but with a split level stage setting as well as some invasion into audience space, excellent costumes, it just moves along at a great pace. Don't be afraid of the cheap seats right in the front unless you have very long legs!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abbey Theatre also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Abbey Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing