We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An "INSANE" experience”

Experience Gaelic Games
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$39.87*
and up
Gaelic Games Experience in Dublin
Ranked #18 of 530 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This is a hands on activity - full of fun and laughter and delivered in the heart of the community. A fun mix of culture, history, sport and soft activity. Experience Gaelic Games introduce visiting groups to Ireland’s greatest cultural secret and most popular sports – Gaelic Football, Hurling -(Stick and Ball game), Gaelic Handball along with dance. A uniquely authentic Irish activity! – just about the most memorable and fun Irish experience visitors can have!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An "INSANE" experience”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I took my school football team from Berkshire to Experience Gaelic Games whilst on a football tour to Dublin. It was the highlight of their trip!! They loved every second of the coaching/playing/learning of the games, in fact they were fascinated! From the minute Georgina came to meet us, all through the coaching by Cormac and to the last seconds of our visit, we were treated so well! I honestly cannot recommend it highly enough or thank them enough for the experience which all the boys called on the way home, 'insane'!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John_Gook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaelicgames34, Owner at Experience Gaelic Games, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
John - the photos of the group look great we're just editing them at the moment and we'll post them on our facebook page over the next few days. The team and their behaviour were a credit to you and the school. Your penalty save and it's result will feature strongly!!
Hope to see you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    11
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Private coaching session!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I travelled to Dublin with a friend on 10/02 and we arranged to take part in some Gaelic sports as part of our trip.

Initially we thought we'd be joining another group but due to no other sessions being booked at that time we were very pleased to be offered what was effectively our own private coaching session for about 3 hours!

We played handball, football and hurling and found the whole experience to be fun, informative and also a decent work-out. Our coach (Cormick) was really adaptable and made a great effort to make the session as enjoyable as possible, despite our limited numbers.

We learnt loads about the techniques of the sports, how the game is structured in Ireland and generally how Gaelic sports are a massive part of day-to-day life in Ireland.

We combined our visit with a tour of Croke Park in the morning (not too far away) to make it the complete Gaelic sports day!

We'd recommend this to anybody who loves their sport and likes to try something new.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaelicgames34, Owner at Experience Gaelic Games, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thanks for sharing the experience - it was a pleasure to have you around and we look forward to having you back soon in the meantime keep up with whats going on with us on our website - hope you might consider joining us for the Poc Fada weekend in August when we get to bring a group to the historic Cooley Mountains! Keep up the good work with the cricket.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic fun”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I went here with a group of 30 ladies and we had a fantastic time!! The guys at the club are so full of energy we were laughing the whole time and were exhausted by the end of it. We were shown some basic skills in Gaelic football and hurling and even had time for handball and some dancing. I would recommend to all ages and sporting abilities. We came away absolutely buzzing and the photos are hilarious!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaelicgames34, Owner at Experience Gaelic Games, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
What a group you were! Super fun we had too - Everyone got involved and the good spirit and laughter was infectious. Guess the wedding in March will be some day- enjoy- hopefully we'll be welcoming some of you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Irish Experience”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

A group of us went to Dublin for a friend's Stag Weekend. We hoped there might be somewhere that could do some kind of Gaelic games experience. What we got was just so much more! Georgina and the guys at the club did an amazing job making us feel welcome, having great banter and fun. The games were brilliant - the coaches taught us really well with great sense of humour. All the guys thought it was utterly brilliant.
Gaelic Football, Hurling and Handball. We were shattered by the end but it was absolutely worth it.
The club provided a great lunch for us and could't help us enough in making the event memorable for the stag.
We'd all highly recommend going to Experience Gaelic Games. Unique and brilliant!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a stadium”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

If your visiting Ireland during the GAA season, get tickets to a football or hurling game. On big match days the stadium is full with 80k fans. The experience is electric.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ShaneCeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Experience Gaelic Games also viewed

 

Been to Experience Gaelic Games? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing