We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really nice venue”
Review of The Academy Dublin

The Academy Dublin
Ranked #122 of 293 Nightlife in Dublin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since The Academy opens its doors in late 2007, we’ve welcomed a large number of talented acts, and have a million great memories... From The Killers to Lilly Allen, Chuck Berry to Calvin Harris, Biffy Clyro to Michael McIntyre, we’re proud to be at the forefront of the live music scene in Dublin.Featuring 3 different venues within one building, The Academy gives punters a big choice of acts, clubs & events to consider when on a night out in the city. The Main Room has a capacity of 850 including the mezzanine balcony. With a prominent stage that is viewable from every corner of the room, and raised seating areas situated either side of the stage, it means that every punter gets to experience the show close up. This is where the biggest acts play, and where our late clubs take place.Academy 2 in the basement is our baby venue, with a capacity of 230. Here you will find new up & coming acts, both local and international. Countless bands have cut their teeth in Academy 2, only to announce soonafter that their next gig will be headlining the Main Room!The Greenroom is our ground floor venue which was given a complete overhaul in the summer of 2011. With a capacity of 450 and a new stage installed, its the perfect location for club nights, DJ’s, private parties & special events.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Really nice venue, small but massive! Myself and a group of friends went down to see / hear The Foals. They were awesome but I really like this venue. Very much like our own Mandela Hall in Belfast. Wouldn’t mind heading back someday.

Thank JTclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irisholympian, Front Office Manager at The Academy Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

We are still buzzing off the Foals gigs, what an incredible live band! Glad you enjoyed your time in The Academy, we hope to see you back again in Dublin. Thanks for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"support act"
in 2 reviews
"intimate venue"
in 2 reviews
"bar staff"
in 3 reviews
"great atmosphere"
in 4 reviews
"city centre"
in 2 reviews
"gigs"
in 11 reviews
"stage"
in 7 reviews
"concert"
in 5 reviews
"circus"
in 2 reviews
"artists"
in 4 reviews
Filter

58 - 62 of 67 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

I love this venue..it's nice and small, you can see the stage really well from anywhere.
The only thing I didn't like was the bar was not open for alcoholic drinks!

Thank Molls21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irisholympian, Front Office Manager at The Academy Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Glad you enjoyed Lawson in The Academy! Because of the young audience for those guys, the age restriction meant we were not able to have the full bar open during the show. Most gigs in The Academy are Over 18's, so hopefully you will be back again and can enjoy a tipple then! Look forward to welcoming you again....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

A great location. A fantastic music venue. Staff were really helpful to myself and friends. I can't recommend this highly enough.

Thank ogie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irisholympian, Front Office Manager at The Academy Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

What a great review, thank you so much! Delighted you've had great experiences of our venue. Hope to see you back in The Academy soon, cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Great venue for that intimate concert, up close and personal with the artists and great sound as well. It gets extremely hot and I mean extremely hot in the venue, just bear this in mind, especially if your up stairs.

Thank royst1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irisholympian, Front Office Manager at The Academy Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thanks for the 5 out of 5 review!

If you ever have an issue on the night please feel free to ask for a manager and they can try sort you out on the spot. Hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Last night was fantastic.Great venue and atmosphere.Clear view of the stage form every angle.Fast and effiecient bar staff with friendly and personable security which is very hard to find these days.Had a ball!

Thank TonyInch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irisholympian, Front Office Manager at The Academy Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Cheers for the feedback Tony, glad you had a good night at Soulfly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Academy Dublin also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Academy Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing