We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit if in Dublin.”

Guinness Storehouse
Ranked #5 of 512 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: GUINNESS STOREHOUSE(R), Ireland's No. 1 visitor attraction is a "must see" on any visit to Dublin. Housed in an old fermentation plant in the heart of St James's Gate Brewery, the now seven-storey visitor experience tells the story of Ireland's iconic drink and beings to life the heritage of this world famous beer. Your journey begins standing at the bottom of the world's largest pint glass, which rises through the building. It is a dramatic story that begins over 250 years ago and ends in Gravity(R) Bar, Dublin's highest bar where you will receive a complimentary pint of GUINNESS(R) while enjoying spectacular views over Dublin.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Stroller parking, Wheelchair access
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I am not a big drinker and I certainly do not like Guinness, but I thoroughly enjoyed this attraction.

The storehouse is easy to find and within walking distance of Temple Bar (where we stayed).

Tickets were around 16 euro. Considering you get a free pint with this (which would cost you over 4 euro in the bars, I thought that was reasonable).

Spent a good couple of hours here learning the history of Guinness, advertising campaigns etc.

You can have a free taster of Guinness before you get to the bars on the upper floors, which I think is useful if you have never tried Guinness before. You can then decide if you would like to use your drink voucher on Guinness or something else.

I thought the gift shop was reasonably priced, especially after having visited Harry Potter Studios in Leavesden, I was pleasantly surprised by the prices. There was a lot of choice too, from Guinness flavoured crisps to Guinness socks.

I never thought I would enjoy this place as much as I did, but I would now recommend it to anyone who is visiting Dublin.

Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuinnessStorehouse, Public Relations Manager at Guinness Storehouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for visiting the Home of Guinness. Sláinte!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (39,239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"gravity bar"
in 5,861 reviews
"free pint"
in 1,744 reviews
"top floor"
in 2,153 reviews
"pour your own"
in 1,334 reviews
"self guided tour"
in 2,256 reviews
"brewing process"
in 977 reviews
"black stuff"
in 1,220 reviews
"brewery tour"
in 459 reviews
"degree view of dublin"
in 425 reviews
"learn how"
in 1,040 reviews
"connoisseur experience"
in 307 reviews
"tasting room"
in 806 reviews
"learning how"
in 411 reviews
"own pace"
in 824 reviews
"gift shop"
in 1,061 reviews
"tasting experience"
in 293 reviews
"visiting dublin"
in 492 reviews
Filter

25,879 - 25,883 of 39,239 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

We enjoyed touring the Guinness Storehouse and found it to be an interesting place. It was quite a busy and admission was rather expensive but it did include a drink at the Gravity Bar. The bar was very crowded though we did order & receive our drink quickly. After a short wait we did find comfortable chairs near the window to enjoy the views and our pint. The bar has a 360 degree view of the city.

Thank INtraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuinnessStorehouse, Public Relations Manager at Guinness Storehouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for visiting the Home of Guinness. Sláinte!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

I brought a group of European colleagues here and we experienced a well run, efficient tour. The food was excellent as was the porter!

Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuinnessStorehouse, Public Relations Manager at Guinness Storehouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you very much for submitting this review of your recent trip to Guinness Storehouse. Sláinte!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

First of all, this is NOT a brewery. It is a museum inside the old Guinness brewery. It has elaborate (but very basic) explanations and demonstrations of the process of making beer, but anyone who's been to an actual functioning brewery or knows about beer would not be learning anything here. It's also ridiculously reverent of Arthur Guinness. I'm surprised they didn't have him embalmed and make you line up to see his corpse like Lenin in Moscow. Anyway, it's a somewhat fun place, and the views from the Gravity Bar are not bad. Also, don't expect your Guinness to taste vastly different here. That's a myth. The differences, if there are any, are subtle.

1  Thank northropfrye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuinnessStorehouse, Public Relations Manager at Guinness Storehouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for visiting the Home of Guinness. Sláinte!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Good place to go to, if you love Guinness beer. We learned about how it was made, the history of the place, and saw the advertisements of it through the years. There was a restaurant with a live band. We hung out a bit. I admired the technology they used to showcase their story. Of course, they gave each visitor a pint of Guinness in exchange for the ticket. A nice ending for the tour, if you like that kind of beer. :) The view from the topmost floor (called Gravity) where you got your free beer was really breathtaking!

Thank Bernadette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuinnessStorehouse, Public Relations Manager at Guinness Storehouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

We are really happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed the Guinness experience. Thank you for the positive feedback and great photos . Sláinte!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guinness Storehouse also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Guinness Storehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing