We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does the job.”

The Coachmans Inn Restaurant Dublin
Ranked #309 of 2,595 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Swords, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Does the job.”
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in on way home from airport. Was empty except for 2 other tables. Was served quickly and attentively. Food was average, but fine. Good value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StevenSwords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latteridge, Manager at The Coachmans Inn Restaurant Dublin, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear StevenSwords
Thanks for taking the time to review, we are constantly trying to improve at the Coachmans and would love to have you back again to see the improvements we are making, hopefully next time you’ll agree the food is ‘better than average.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    77
    36
    10
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cheap and Cheerful”
Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

I have lived in glasnevin for 20 years and my first time in the coachman and defiantly won't be the last. Service was great, food was delicious and brilliant value €15.00 for a 4 course dinner. I don't think anyone could do better. At the moment I am carry my belly out to the door.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vibsmini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latteridge, Manager at The Coachmans Inn Restaurant Dublin, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Vibsmini
Thanks for taking the time to review and hopefully we will see you at The Coachmans for the next 20 years.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
1,162 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 572 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have lived here in Dublin for nearly twenty years, and had never visited the Coachmans until last Saturday evening, it's quite funny, because over the years you hear people saying what a great place it is, and how great the food is, and that many a good night has been had there. ten of us turned up to this very large pub, firstly there was hardly anyone there, just a couple of other punters around, there was a carvery restaurant down the back, which had the usual selection of roasts and meats in sauce etc. I have to say it was average food, and the service behind the bar was slow, every time i ordered drinks, i had to go looking for the barman.
maybe it's just a sign of the times, or the drink driving thing, but this once famously renowned pub, was not what I expected it to be.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Theycallitmadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latteridge, Manager at The Coachmans Inn Restaurant Dublin, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear petercurran
Thanks for taking the time to review, we are sad to hear you didn’t have the experience that so many have talked about. We are constantly trying to improve and hope that the next time you visit you get the experience that so many have talked about.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good stop on the road!”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Not a bad place to stop on the road to Belfast or heading to the Dublin airport. Basically its a well know pub with good pub food at reasonable food. Good parking and if your in a hurry this is the place to stop.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foxuisce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latteridge, Manager at The Coachmans Inn Restaurant Dublin, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Foxuisce
Thanks for taking the time to review and to stop in, we’re glad you had a great experience.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Another place with Character”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I love a pub that, where if the walls could talk, you'd be there a long time listening to stories. As it is, it's really not a problem to get a story out of one of the locals there anyway. Start the conversation and make it known your a traveller. I think this place has been hosting travellers for more than a hundred years.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank o2bnkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latteridge, Manager at The Coachmans Inn Restaurant Dublin, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear o2bnkd
Thank you for taking the time to review and we hope that your travels lead you back to the Coachmans again some day.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coachmans Inn Restaurant Dublin also viewed

Cloghran, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Coachmans Inn Restaurant Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing