We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dublin Hostel = Avalon House”
Review of Avalon House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Avalon House
Ranked #29 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

since 2004 i spent a lot of time in Dublin. I have been to many hostels in town, but since 2010 every time i come back to Avalon House. Its the best for its price, location and friendly staff! See you again

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DubbleT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvalonDublin, Manager at Avalon House, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Good Morning,

Thank you so much for your great review.

We look forward to welcoming you back also :)

Thank you

Kind Regards
Jennifer Farrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (860)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

415 - 421 of 860 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

For the price it was fine. The breakfast does need some fruit or juice though. The plumbing is very noisy though i doubt there's much can be done about that.

Since the hotel manager sent an email offering a 20% discount to people who wrote positive reviews on here, I wouldn't trust some people's comments. It's just ok. Not horrible, not amazing. Just ok.

Quote from email: "If you had a pleasant stay please let everyone know via Hostelworld and/or Tripadvisor. We love hearing your great comments, compliments and stories of Dublin so keep them coming; they really encourage us!

When you leave your positive feedback send an email with a copy of this and receive 20% off your next stay"

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Disco85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvalonDublin, Manager at Avalon House, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for your review.
We apologise if you were offended by our offer we only ask guests to leave true reviews and would never do otherwise.

All comments appearing are 100% honest and we also ask guests to contact us if they had any problems with their stay - this is mentioned in the email also.

Thank you

Kind Regards
Jennifer Farrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Every hostel should look like Avalon hostel - great price, young, pleasant people, great location, everything clean (bathrooms, common areas, kitchen). We played table tennis for free and pool. Nice experience!

Room Tip: don't worry to choose big share room, use earplugs and good sleeping is guaranteed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pajas_turn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed a week and had a ball.The hostel is walking distance to Temple bar and Grafton St and lots of buzzing bars ,nightclubs and coffee shops. The staff were friendly and the free breakfast a great deal even better was to be able to eat it looking out onto the city coming alive first thing in the morning.
I stayed in one of the larger dorms (Avalon) which surprisingly felt more spacious than many of the so called 'small dorms' I have stayed in before in other hostels. Yes it is true the more people you have in a room the more snoring is likely but after a certain number it becomes more like a symphony :-).
Des from New Zealand

Room Tip: Avalon on top floor if you don't mind being with lots of other people and are a reasonable sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Des W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvalonDublin, Manager at Avalon House, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Good Morning Des,

Firstly thank you for taking the time to write this review and secondly thank you for the positive feedback.
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

If you are ever coming back to Dublin please book with us again as we would love to have you back :)

Kind Regards
Jennifer Farrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Avalon house is a great hostel with affordable price. I enjoy my stay there. A single Private with share is 20 euro on weekdays. Nothing beats that kind of accommodation.
The staff at Avalon House is very courteous and polite. Clare who checked me in filled up my water bottle when I asked where to get fresh water.

You can't get better value for accomodation other than Avalon House. That's why it is always fully booked on the weekends.

I will always choose Avalon House as my accomodation in dublin.

The only downside is Single Private rooms are quickly booked up. So if you are sure about visiting Dublin, please do make your booking quickly.

Room Tip: good value for affordable price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaun Fon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvalonDublin, Manager at Avalon House, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Good Morning,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback.

I will let Claire know how happy you where dealing with her.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Jennifer Farrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Avalon House was my home away from home (Australia) in 2006 and again in 2007. This place is great, rooms were clean ( & warm in winter), bathrooms clean, quiet, friendly staff, fanTAStic location, walk to everywhere. Still a very secure accom, if you don't have a card then you don't get in after hours. We are planning a trip in 2012, I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I stayed in a few different rooms and never had an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjintheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvalonDublin, Manager at Avalon House, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Good Morning,

Thank you for comments - we really appreciate your fantastic positive feedback and look forward to you staying with us again.
So hurry up and come back :)

Kind Regards
Jennifer Farrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I went to Dublin for 4 days and stayed at the Avalon House. I really likes the location, it was relatively close to everything and in a very lively area. However the bathrooms smelled and the showers weren't very clean. I also thought that some of the staff weren't as friendly as I thought they'd be. I'm a big breakfast person and I was a little disappointed with it. They only offered you cereal and bread with chocolate or strawberry jam. It was good that they had a cafeteria with food but that wasn't included in the breakfast so therefore you had to pay. Had free wi-fi but always had to go down to the lobby because there was no signal in our room. Plus the beds were super hard, I felt like I was sleeping on the floor.
If I were you I'd search for a different hostel..

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmguzman_91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvalonDublin, Manager at Avalon House, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Good Morning,

Thank you for your review.
I am sorry to hear that you where unsatisfied with your stay with us.

Our bathrooms whilst dated are clean, they are cleaned 3 times daily by housekeeping staff.
I am surprised to hear that you found some of our staff we not very friendly as we pride ourselves on excellent customer service.
Breakfast is a free option we offer our guests.
For wi-fi we only advertise this in the lobby area because as the building is so old it is hard to get a signal on the higher floors.

If would like to discuss any of these matters further then please contact me directly @ groups@avalon-house.ie

Thank you

Kind Regards
Jennifer Farrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Kinlay House
Kinlay House
#14 of 127 in Dublin
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 127 in Dublin
2,245 reviews
Temple Bar
Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar
Isaacs Hostel
#6 of 127 in Dublin
2,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon House

Address: Avalon House 55 Aungier Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range: $21 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Avalon House 1*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Avalon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon House Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing