We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price but not great location and lots of noise”
Review of Avalon House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avalon House
Ranked #22 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
601 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 424 helpful votes
“Good price but not great location and lots of noise”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

this hostel is just south of town center and a bit far but there is a bus you can take (most of Dublin is walkable so not really necessary if your bags aren't too heavy). The bathrooms are shared between men and women which was a bit uncomfortable but the stalls for both the bathrooms and showers closed well and the shower had a little changing room so it wasn't terrible. The double rooms are very small and cramped but you do have a sink in the room and small shelves which are very useful to put small stuff. The hostel is on a busy road so you hear cars and people all night, making it difficult to sleep. The hostel includes breakfast but its only toast and not worth going. There is also a really large kitchen with lots of cooking items (except knives, hard to find those) but it was constantly packed so it was hard to find space to cook; however the hostel is close to two grocery stores. The reception folks were really nice and helpful and offer a free city walking tour which was excellent. There is also a tv room and laundry facilities which we didn't use.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    306
    215
    108
    70
See reviews for
54
151
172
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

We thought we had rented a twinn room and what we found was a group room, anything but clean. There were nail clippings and hairs over the sheets... I don't think I need to say anything else about cleanness...
The building is quite noisy if it's a windy day, as the old windows bang even if closed...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Buckhead, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

People stay in hostels to save money. So you'd like an in room jacuzzi, 5000 thread count sheets, and personal chefs? Pay for it elsewhere!!!!! this is a hostel, not The ritz. Get over it.
Beds were rock hard and the pillows were confused as pancakes. Still I'm not complaining too much, as you get what you pay for. Having high expectations is totally silly. There are lots of people hanging out from all over to converse with and tons stuff to do around the hostel to keep you busy. I recommend the hostel pub crawl, available every night.

Go Irish!!!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank JOEY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This hostel was in a rather larger building and although there are a lot of people there it is not the best for meeting people and for me that is very disappointing. Lots of people staying there are long termers. The hostel was clean but there was no pub…….a hostel without a pub is rather sad…. Although it is relatively close to the temple bar area. There is a great little café at the front of the hostel which I would highly recommend for a tea. I had no issues with the hostel itself but for me I stay in hostels for the experience and for the ease of meeting people.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TunaTom-backpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We booked an ensuite room for 4.
It was small, 2 bunk beds, sharing it with a pack of friends was ok but I would not like to share it with strangers.
Beds were tragically uncomfortable, one of them was falling apart.
Bathroom not very satisfying, the water saving button in the shower with no possibility to adjust temperature - strange and inconvenient.
The room and bathroom were fairly clean, no issues with the staff, they were friendly and welcoming.
AvalonH is all about the location! In the center, most of the attractions within a walking distance.
Free wifi downstairs and free computers to use if you do not hold your laptop.
Free breakfast is basic (cereal/milk, toasts, artificial jam and even more artificial horrible chocolate spread :D coffee/tea). But I do not expect fresh homemade specialties for the price.
A bigger issue I think is the space. There are a lot of people and not enough place to sit everyone. Especially that it is also a Cafe open to public.
Oh and if you are travelling by car... Nightmare to get there if you do not know the city. Dublin is all about one-way roads.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

First off, this place is really close to everything. It's also really easy to get to and sits on one of the bus routes, linking it directly to the airport. It's around a 20 Euro cab ride to the airport, too.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the facilities were sort of clean. I don't really mind since I don't expect to spend much time there beyond sleeping anyway. There are lockers for 1 Euro a day to store your stuff if you're in a big dorm room (I was in a 10 person mixed room with my brother). Definitely recommend wearing slippers for the shower/bathroom, but the beds are clean.

Made a reservation just a week in advance, paid a little over 55 quid for two people for two nights, so not too shabby. Only problem about the 10 person room was just a pair of drunken bros stumbling in and out at 4am, but that's not the hostel's fault.

If I came back to Dublin, I'd probably stay here again, but try to get my hands on a smaller room.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, get a smaller room. If not, go for the big rooms. The 10 person rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeriousUnibrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I was here with a friend and having booked through Europe's Famous Hostels thought we were in for a treat. The place is a total dive, the bathrooms on the third floor are full of mould, the timers on the showers last maybe 30 seconds and they're only ever luke-warm. There are no lockers in the rooms which isn't terribly handy. Mind you, I don't think I'd want to be putting anything on the floor in those rooms either, the carpets are disgusting. Staff are unfriendly and look put-out when interacting about anything from checking in to renting a locker. The shared kitchen closes at 10 and apparently opens at 7, so if you're out doing anything early don't expect to get your food before you go. As for the "free breakfast" there's bread, dry cereal, milk and tea/coffee. I can't imagine what this hostel really has to offer. Look elsewhere!

Room Tip: Don't go here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank untitledcdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Kinlay House
Kinlay House
#16 of 112 in Dublin
776 reviews
Temple Bar
Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 112 in Dublin
1,960 reviews
South City Centre
Ashfield Hostel
Ashfield Hostel
#10 of 112 in Dublin
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon House

Property: Avalon House
Address: Avalon House 55 Aungier Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Avalon House 1*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Avalon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon House Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing