We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable rooms and lovely breakfast”
Review of Albany House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albany House
Ranked #60 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at Albany House for three nights in September - we arrived late at night but the reception desk was still staffed and the staff were incredibly friendly despite it being beyond midnight. We were in Room 17 (in the basement of the townhouse) which, regardless of being downstairs, was an excellent size, with a large bed, lovely bathroom and plenty of room for storage etc. The only thing I would say is that the window didn't actually lead to any natural light, instead leading to a dark niche round the back of the hotel. We didn't really book the hotel for the outstanding views though so it didn't affect us the way it might for anyone else. The only thing I would say about the room though was that we didn't get any natural light first thing in the morning, so it made it slightly difficult to wake up and get out of bed! There was also free wi-fi which was useful when planning our day's activities.
While the location looks fairly out the way from the city centre (according to the map), it was actually less than a 10 minute walk to Grafton Street and the Temple Bar area, and we found it incredibly easy to get from one place to another.
Breakfast was included in our price and was delicious, with a variety of breads, fruit salad and cereals to keep us going throughout the day. Tea and coffee was also offered and we received very speedy, friendly service from everyone in the breakfast room.
Overall a lovely little hotel, great value and would highly recommend a stay.

Room Tip: Back rooms are quieter, if you're in it for the view upstairs in more ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (845)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

404 - 410 of 845 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

We booked this hotel/B&B for 3 long nights, at the end of our 2-1/2 week trip to beautiful Ireland, since it was close to Dublin's city center, St. Stephen's Green and Trinity College. We were unfortunately on the top floor, with no elevator, and the rooms were crowded and stuffy. It was clean, though. There was a double bed in the main sleeping area, that tightly fit against the wall(s) next to the bathroom door, which could not open all of the way. There was another bed in an attached very small "sitting room". The worst part, was that it was the noisiest room we have ever stayed in! In the early AM, noisy gulls were roosting outside the window; in the afternoon, there was a daycare center just below us - also noisy; and at night, there was nearby Nightclub, which was apparently open until approximately 3-4 AM. The breakfasts were marginal, at best - basic. Checking in/out was friendly and efficient, but never again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJ9156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

A warm and friendly hotel staffed by folk that are there to help you. Centrally located within easy walking distance to centre of Dublin and beyond. Good choice of pubs and restaurants nearby. Rooms are clean and well maintained, double glazing keeps the tram and Night club noise down, would pick a back room next time. Breakfast is basic but sufficient to start the day. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a back room away from the street if you want a quieter night sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevenseddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were fortunate enough to stay at such a nice place on our first trip to Dublin. We went by trip advisor comments and location of this place. We stayed for a couple nights and had a great room downstairs, although no air conditioning as it is non existent in most hotels. Wifi is free and appreciated but there is no elevator. The weather was hot and we had a fan left for us the second night by the cleaning staff. We appreciated the thoughtful gesture! It's within walking distance to many places to tour and dine. Thank you to the helpful male staff member who guided us with our many questions. We'd stay here again if given the opportunity to return to Dublin.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sktraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed at Albany House for weekend in August, the rooms and bathroom are large and clean, some wallpaper peeling off the walls. Hotel is across the street from Nightclub the noise goes on until early morning, do not book a room at front of Hotel. Continental breakfast served very basic no great selection, no croissants or cold meats, very poor, go to Bewley's just down the street for full Irish Breakfast. The only good thing about Hotel is its close proximity to St. Stephen's Green and Grafton St.

Room Tip: Book a room at rear of Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Location is good, our room slept 4 comfortably. Tram goes by front door. Easy walk to St. Stephen's Green and other areas. Efficient check in. Good breakfast. Small but friendly. I will stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms away from the street are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JW H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The hotel is nice and in a good position, but the staff is not very kind (they don't say hello or help you with your luggage since there is not a lift!) and when we asked for a shower gel they say they only have shampoo!!! Staff at breakfast very rude and there was a little choice of food!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jinny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#58 of 152 in Dublin
850 reviews
Castle Hotel
#54 of 152 in Dublin
2,137 reviews
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#36 of 152 in Dublin
2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Latchfords Townhouse
#109 of 152 in Dublin
127 reviews
Ariel House
#4 of 152 in Dublin
1,661 reviews
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 152 in Dublin
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albany House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany House

Address: Albany House 84 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in Dublin
#66 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $93 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albany House 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Albany House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany House Hotel Dublin
Albany Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing