We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location but across from LOUD night club”
Review of Albany House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albany House
Ranked #63 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed August 27, 2012

It is a shame that the night club across the street detracts from our rating of the Albany House. On both nights we were there, the night club's clientele began arriving early in the evening and gathered along the sidewalk for a whole block. The noise escallated and continued until 5 am. There were even rickshaw (bike taxi) races in the street with loud screaming and cheering half the night. Fortunately we each had an ipod with ear buds and were able to partially drown out the bedlam. If it wasn't for the noise, we would give the Albany House a high rating. Our room and bathroom were large and comfortable, the continental breakfast was good, and the location by St Stephens Green and Grafton Street was perfect. There is free Wifi. As others have mentioned, there is no lift so you may need to climb up to 5 flights of stairs.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Marian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (837)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

461 - 467 of 837 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2012

Albany house was centrally located near St. Stephens Green and Trinity College as well as Grafton Street. However, our room was fairly basic and small. One of the worst features of the room was the shower which provided lukewarm water that took more than 10 minutes to drain. Our room also faced the street which was insanely loud at night with drunk partyers, car alarms, couples fighting, etc.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ihearteurope09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We value peace and quiet when selecting hotels in city centers. At the Albany, we had a room on the back (room 34) which was quite peaceful, even with an open window.

The room was spacious, with high ceilings and period features. There was a good internet connection and tea/coffee facilities. The bathroom was modernized, with a good shower.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvianaJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The room photo below does not show the 2 person sofa that was just off the right corner of the photo. Bring your own alarm clock as there were no clocks in the room. Guest house is located about a block down from the south edge of St. Stephen Green, good location. Very nice continental breakfast with lots of selections including a great selection of cheeses. WiFi connectivity - one must establish an account with bitbuzz and then use a 4 word pass code to connect. My wife's iPod which connected easily and quickly in small B&B-s in Wales never connected at the Albany House even with assistance from the reception desk. There is no wastebasket in the bathroom.

Facility could use some plaster and paint touch up here and there. They are expanding into an adjacent building.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe-SVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is a beautiful building, friendly staff, spotlessly clean rooms, lovely modern ensuite shower room, comfortable bed & pillows, fresh bedding & towels every day, lovely fresh continental breakfast BUT take your earplugs! We took ours having read the previous comments but with a room at the front was still extremely noisy from the thumping music from the nightclub across the street and the very very noisy people frequenting it - particularly last night (Sunday) tons of shouting. The noise goes on every night until 4 am and even with the earplugs we had very disturbed nights. Book this hotel for price & location - 10-15 mins walk from town and right next to the beautiful St Stephens Green but ask for a room at the back :)

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank alimhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I didn't realize when I booked that this is more of a hotel than a B&B. I thought I was showing up at a sweet little family run B&B with 10 rooms, not 4 floors' worth of rooms. I had been staying at small establishments, so expected this to be the same. As long as you know what you're getting, it's fine I arrived late, so that meant I had to lug my luggage up several flights of stairs, as all the lower floors were full already. 4 floors would logically mean 4 flights of stairs, but that's not the case here, with the tall ceilings. So many stairs! Ask for a room on a low floor, towards the back. My room was at the very top, facing Harcourt St., and I got to hear a classy drunk fishwife screeching and cussing at her man for quite an extended time, from 6 PM onward. I guess she was getting started early this evening. Thin windows mean you'll get an earful!
I can't comment on breakfast; I didn't eat it.
Large ensuite bathroom was a treat! Big, glass-walled shower, hot water, enough towels.
The best thing about Albany House is the location! Just a few minutes' walk from Grafton Street and St. Stephen's Green. If you're in Dublin to sight-see, then bring some earplugs and request a lower-floor room and stay here! I thought the value was excellent for the location. Also, I walked through St. Stephen's Green to get to the bus stop. Allow 15 mins. Not bad.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a lower level, at the back of the building. Street-facing rooms are quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AprilDvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I spent a few nights at the Albany House and would definitely recommend it.

The location is fantastic - minutes away from St Stephen's Green, Merrion Square, Grafton Street and Temple Bar (if you must).

Breakfast was lovely - fresh fruit, good coffee, excellent bread and croissants. If they could consider adding hard-boiled eggs and maybe some ham, that would be all the better.

My room was spacious, comfortable, clean and well-decorated. My only difficulty was that walking up six flights if stairs with luggage was a bit of a chore, but adding lifts might well undermine the architecture - the ceilings above the staircases have beautiful 18th-Century mouldings.

It's a lovely mid-range hotel and well worth the price.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDBHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Harrington Hall
#91 of 150 in Dublin
553 reviews
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#64 of 150 in Dublin
834 reviews
Castle Hotel
#54 of 150 in Dublin
2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#44 of 150 in Dublin
973 reviews
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 150 in Dublin
2,047 reviews
The Belvedere Hotel
#61 of 150 in Dublin
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albany House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany House

Address: Albany House 84 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in Dublin
#66 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $91 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albany House 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Albany House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany House Hotel Dublin
Albany Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing