We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were looking for a "soft landing" in Dublin: comfort, hospitality, kindness... we found it with the Aberdeen Lodge.”
Review of Aberdeen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aberdeen Lodge
Ranked #4 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2010

The Aberdeen Lodge provided us with exactly the "soft landing" we hoped for in Dublin. We travel a lot, so we really hoped to find "Ireland" when we got here, rather than another community of tourists.

"Here's Sandymount Village," our taxi driver pointed out after our 20 minute drive from the airport. "This is your village. There's a fresh food market, a couple of pubs, it's just two blocks to the beach at Dublin Bay. It's a beautiful residental area. You'll like the Aberdeen Lodge." I recognized the Aberdeen Lodge immediately by it's ivy-covered walls.

We planned two days at the Aberdeen, and ended up staying a third night at the end of our trip. We were completely taken in by the truly exceptional staff, the pristine cleanliness, and genteel comfort of the Lodge. We enjoyed the garden, walks into "our" village and our walks to the sea. Breakfast was a sumptious affair of both a vast buffet and hot breakfast. We found public transport just outside the door, so it was an easy skip directly from Sandymount to Trinity College, Temple Bar, the music, and the museums in the tourist areas.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelOn_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (597)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

477 - 483 of 597 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2010

I hate large hotels, so when friends recommended we try The Aberdeen Lodge in Dublin we decided to give it a go-superb, would not stay anywhere else now.Anne and Pat are perfect hosts,they and their staff make you feel most welcome.Cannot fault anything.Well located ,good parking,free.Excellent restaurants nearby , and good bus and rail connections to city centre. Breakfast in recently refurbished dining room is as good as it gets. A lovely touch is coffee or tea with biscuits served in the lounge on arrival,where you will also find a good selection of daily newspapers. Spotlessly clean throughout, you really feel you are staying in someones home rather than an hotel. Cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

We booked a triple room and were given a room with three single beds, which worked-out fine. The hotel is in a lovely neighborhood near a bus stop and fairly close to the DART station. If you want to be right in the middle of Dublin then this may not be the place for you, but we enjoye it. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was delicious. The dining room is very spacious, light, and comfortable and the decor of the hotel is very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank runnermom_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

My 2 sisters and I stayed here whilst visiting family from 16th - 18th July. From our initial booking, there was nothing more that the staff, particularly Thomas, could have done for us. From arranging our taxi from the airport, checking out local restaurants and booking us a late table, to giving us all the information we could possibly need to make our short visit as smooth and enjoyable as possible.

The hotel itself is a little further out from the city centre than we would have liked, but is only a short DART journey away. It is also only a 10 minute walk away from a couple of local lovely restaurants and cafés, shops etc. The area is very quiet, leafy and pleasant and comfortable to walk around at night.

We had two adjoining rooms which were very comfortable and clean and had everything we needed, including fresh bottled water. Anything else we wanted was just a quick phone call, and delivered in minutes. The power shower was the strongest I've ever been in and was great!

Unfortunately for us, the sound proofing in the room could possibly have been better. We were able to hear a lot from the room above us who had young children running backwards and forwards til the early hours, then up again at 6 o'clock! However, we mentioned this the following morning, and the next night was much quieter.

Tea and coffee are made fresh for you and brought to your room or served in the lounge as and when you want it and accompanied by very nice home made biscuits. We only ate breakfast there which was very nice [light snacks and afternoon tea is available at almost anytime]. My only criticism would be that fresh juices rather than concentrated would have been nice. Apart from that, the breakfast choices were very good and served quickly whilst still remaining relaxing.

I would definately recommend Aberdeen Lodge, and will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RooBurton_on_Trent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

My husband and I stayed in Aberdeen Lodge on 26th June 2010 and we were attending a Wedding reception in nearby Pembroke Cricket Club and have to say staff very friendly,
beautiful accomodation and really tasty food - would recommend it to anyone - "real home from home".
Carmel Duffy

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank carmel16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

Set in a leafy suburb, this is a lovely out of town hotel. Extremely clean and comfortable, friendly and efficient staff, beautiful gardens, welcoming, and providing a sound nights sleep, followed by a delicious Irish breakfast. Conveniently located, only three stops from the local Sydney Parade dart station into the city (and for only £2:50 return). Excellent airport links, coach transfer only 5 min walk from the hotel. The location is perfect, and the sea front is a two minute walk away, offering a beautiful beach walk, to nearby village, Sandymount.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCMManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2010

Recently again stayed at this hotel for ashort break. The location is close to a Dart station and only a short walk to numerous hosterlies and good restaurants. We arrived after 8pm after a long days travel, the host,Pat not only booked a local restaurant, Browns, but also ran us down in his own vehicle.
The rooms are quiet and spotless with all the usual amenities but to a very high standard. Breakfast was cooked fresh and accompanied by the usual tea coffee and lots of toast,. a great start to the day.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff,
One guest was overheard to compliment the owner when checking out as he usually stayed at one of the larger chains when in Dublin but was more than pleased that he had made the change,and intended to stay on his frequent trips to Dublin

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.8 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
4,156 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4,659 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#5 of 151 in Dublin
1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#13 of 151 in Dublin
4,669 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,449 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 151 in Dublin
2,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberdeen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdeen Lodge

Address: 53 - 55 Park Avenue | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#11 Family Hotel in Dublin
#15 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#18 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#61 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $134 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aberdeen Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect balance of luxury, privacy and location. Aberdeen Lodge Ballsbridge is one of Dublin's gems, discretely hidden in the exclusive embassy district of Ballsbridge. Large well-kept gardens surrounding grand mansions give the place an air of refined exclusivity. Aberdeen Lodge Hotel Ballsbridge Dublin shares all these privileges. The elegant rooms and suites in this urban estate include four poster beds, period furnishings and views of the attractive gardens. The award winning breakfast is served in the period style dining room overlooking the landscaped gardens. Afternoon teas and fine wines are served in the main drawing rooms and library where guests can relax. Staff are extremely welcoming and are happy to assist guests in arranging city and countryside tours. Complimentary secure guest car parking is available onsite at Aberdeen Lodge Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aberdeen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberdeen Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing