We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“outstanding weekend welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aberdeen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aberdeen Lodge
Ranked #7 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“outstanding weekend welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

What a lovely hotel with a friendly and helpful staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Would recommend this to all my friends. The breakfast was excellent. The hotel is well placed for access into Dublin with the Dart railway a short walk away and the number 1 bus starts from just outside.
Nice outside area when the weather is good. Free tea and coffee with home made biscuits are available either in the room or the louge area. This was most appreciated after a day out sightseeing.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    95
    27
    12
    3
See reviews for
126
258
35
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

All the good things people have said about the lodge we found to be true. Accomodating and attentive staff, very comfortable bed in room 27, nice area, quiet, good breakfast, etc.
It is close to public transportation-10 minute walk to DART Line, 10 minute ride to Pearse Station and a 10 minute walk from Pearse to Temple Bar area, very convenient. Note that at the local DART station, once you have paid your fair and entered, you need to walk about 50 yards and walk over a bridge to get on the correct side of the tracks to go into Dublin.
Sandymount is a nice little village with a couple nice restaurants and is about a 20 minute walk from the lodge.
In getting to the lodge from the airport we had planned to take the Airlink bus to the first Dart station and then take DART to the lodge. Via email, the staff gently suggested we take the taxi and that they would arrange for the taxi. That was the correct choice; it cost 27 euros and was worth every penny. Airlink can be dreadfully slow since it makes many stops to and from the airport. For example, one day after returning from Galway, it took us 90 minutes starting at 2:00 PM to get from the Heuston station to the airport.
If you want a relatively quiet location a little ways out of town with easy access to downtown, this is the place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cap09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Very quite nice location in a residential neighborhood. Clean room and very helpful staff. The breakfast was fantastic and you can walk to the beach. Not much around there, you need a car to get around.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gaill203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

located in ballsbridge you have to either take taxis (approx. 14 euros) or ride the dart (there were four of us so taxis it was). Nice and quiet and just a few blocks from the coast, we were greeted with hot tea and cookies and an introduction to the family and cat, Paws! Shown to our rooms which were roomy, bright and clean bathrooms had the most amenities (only place I was offered body lotion). Breakfasts were good, even though the buffet area was a little thin compared to others we had on the trip. Very accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rnovakz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Our group spent a couple nights at the Aberdeen Lodge in June 2014. Our rooms were all en-suite, roomy and comfortable. The staff went out of their way to take care of us and make sure our visit was trouble free. The breakfasts were delicious.

It is located on a treed street of large homes just outside the main city. Also fairly close to the airport.

This would be a great place for your stay in Dublin.

Room Tip: They are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

Next time in Dublin I will be back here. Friendly and really helpful staff, great breakfast, nice atmosphere. Slept really well. Enjoyed the spacious garden. Quiet neighborhood in a great location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LivEva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

I was concerned about the location of this hotel, being a bit outside of Dublin, but my fears were soon allayed. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Very friendly welcome and accommodating staff. excellent breakfast. It was an easy 5 min walk to the nearby Dart station and from there frequent short and low cost trips into Dublin centre. It was actually nice to get back to the quiet of the very pleasant neighbourhood that is home to the hotel. A 10 minute walk takes you into Sandymount village and there together with other restaurants you will find Mulligans Pub. An excellent clean and friendly pub with great food. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
3.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,346 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
2.8 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,101 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,849 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberdeen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdeen Lodge

Property: Aberdeen Lodge
Address: 53 - 55 Park Avenue | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#11 Family Hotel in Dublin
#18 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#61 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aberdeen Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect balance of luxury, privacy and location. Aberdeen Lodge Ballsbridge is one of Dublin's gems, discretely hidden in the exclusive embassy district of Ballsbridge. Large well-kept gardens surrounding grand mansions give the place an air of refined exclusivity. Aberdeen Lodge Hotel Ballsbridge Dublin shares all these privileges. The elegant rooms and suites in this urban estate include four poster beds, period furnishings and views of the attractive gardens. The award winning breakfast is served in the period style dining room overlooking the landscaped gardens. Afternoon teas and fine wines are served in the main drawing rooms and library where guests can relax. Staff are extremely welcoming and are happy to assist guests in arranging city and countryside tours. Complimentary secure guest car parking is available onsite at Aberdeen Lodge Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aberdeen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberdeen Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing