We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay, friendly hosts”
Review of Aberdeen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aberdeen Lodge
Ranked #6 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Sugar Land, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely stay, friendly hosts”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

located in ballsbridge you have to either take taxis (approx. 14 euros) or ride the dart (there were four of us so taxis it was). Nice and quiet and just a few blocks from the coast, we were greeted with hot tea and cookies and an introduction to the family and cat, Paws! Shown to our rooms which were roomy, bright and clean bathrooms had the most amenities (only place I was offered body lotion). Breakfasts were good, even though the buffet area was a little thin compared to others we had on the trip. Very accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rnovakz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    99
    29
    12
    3
See reviews for
129
272
35
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Our group spent a couple nights at the Aberdeen Lodge in June 2014. Our rooms were all en-suite, roomy and comfortable. The staff went out of their way to take care of us and make sure our visit was trouble free. The breakfasts were delicious.

It is located on a treed street of large homes just outside the main city. Also fairly close to the airport.

This would be a great place for your stay in Dublin.

Room Tip: They are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Next time in Dublin I will be back here. Friendly and really helpful staff, great breakfast, nice atmosphere. Slept really well. Enjoyed the spacious garden. Quiet neighborhood in a great location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LivEva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I was concerned about the location of this hotel, being a bit outside of Dublin, but my fears were soon allayed. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Very friendly welcome and accommodating staff. excellent breakfast. It was an easy 5 min walk to the nearby Dart station and from there frequent short and low cost trips into Dublin centre. It was actually nice to get back to the quiet of the very pleasant neighbourhood that is home to the hotel. A 10 minute walk takes you into Sandymount village and there together with other restaurants you will find Mulligans Pub. An excellent clean and friendly pub with great food. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Aberdeen Lodge is a very pretty and comfortable B&B. It is a short ride on the Dart train from Dublin and is in a very scenic neighborhood. The town is an enjoyable walk and you definitely know you are in Ireland but without the hustle and bustle of Dublin. The service was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I would really love to give this hotel 5 stars as it has everything:

It is situated in a very nice part of southern Dublin, few minutes walks to either the beach, nice pubs/restaurants in Sandymount village and to the DART, which takes you o Dublin center within minutes.
The staff is extremely welcoming and helpful, it´s a very nice atmosphere and the extensive breakfast-menu is delicious.
Furniture, tiles, bathroom - nothing is quite new, but everything is clean and working.
There´s only one problem which we felt was huge: the building is not soundproof at all. You hear every spoken word in the rooms around you, every step seems to make the whole building squeal and you always know when other guests have to use the bathroom at night. This makes it more than hard to get a good night´s rest and kind of destroyed our opinion abput the hotel - as guest you don´t even have a chance of being considerately silent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shebeestingin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The owners welcomed me on the first night and I was given every possible bit of information about the area. A 5 min run to the beach and 20 min walk to a little village where there are different options for dinner. The 'Dart' is the tram that is a 10-15min journey into the city centre - one of my hesitations about staying out of the city. This service ran frequently and was very easy to get to from the lodge. Great choice for breakfast and would recommend for solo, families or couples.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 72Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
3.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,503 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 151 in Dublin
1,586 reviews
2.8 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,129 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,249 reviews
1.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberdeen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdeen Lodge

Property: Aberdeen Lodge
Address: 53 - 55 Park Avenue | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#11 Family Hotel in Dublin
#18 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#61 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aberdeen Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect balance of luxury, privacy and location. Aberdeen Lodge Ballsbridge is one of Dublin's gems, discretely hidden in the exclusive embassy district of Ballsbridge. Large well-kept gardens surrounding grand mansions give the place an air of refined exclusivity. Aberdeen Lodge Hotel Ballsbridge Dublin shares all these privileges. The elegant rooms and suites in this urban estate include four poster beds, period furnishings and views of the attractive gardens. The award winning breakfast is served in the period style dining room overlooking the landscaped gardens. Afternoon teas and fine wines are served in the main drawing rooms and library where guests can relax. Staff are extremely welcoming and are happy to assist guests in arranging city and countryside tours. Complimentary secure guest car parking is available onsite at Aberdeen Lodge Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aberdeen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberdeen Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing