We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Attentive Staff, Gracious Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aberdeen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aberdeen Lodge
Ranked #5 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Attentive Staff, Gracious Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Upon a mid-morning arrival, we were invited to be seated in the Drawing Room, where we were served coffee and cookies as we completed the registration process. Lui brought in maps and gave us detailed instructions on finding our way around. Proprietor Pat joined us with dining recommendations, including the best pub in Sandymount (Mulligan's).
Our room was lovely with windows overlooking the garden.
During our stay, staff frequently asked, "Is there anything you need?" or "Can I get you anything?"
The breakfasts were far superior to the usual B&B breakfasts. A rather complete menu includes a full Irish breakfast. Items from a light menu of soup and sandwiches are available throughout the day in the Dining Room or as room service.
Our four-day stay included walks to the Irish Sea and to restaurants in Sandymount and Ballsbridge. We also took daily convenient light-rail trips to the center of Dublin and to Howth.
It would be hard to surpass the Aberdeen Lodge for service and convenience in a quiet luxurious neighborhood.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marathoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    95
    27
    12
    3
See reviews for
127
258
35
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

The staff was wonderful, worth more than anything. We had a couple glitches in the beginning but Patrick took care of things and we just had a wonderful feeling about the place. It's a little tired but no biggy and the people and food made it fabulous, just what we wanted/needed. It was so quaint, really felt we were in Ireland. Stayed 3 nights and it was a good (lovely) location out of Dublin proper but only a train ride or bus ride away and that was easy to do. Would definitely stay again and recommend. There are stairs.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank byjoanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

Visiting a friend in the St Vincent University Hospital and wanting public transport available to the city center and south along the coast. # blocks to hospital and 3 blocks to the Dart, the train that runs into the city center and south along the coast to the villages where one can explore Ireland. The hotel was traditional, very clean, very quiet, excellent food with hot breakfast from menu included in the rate. The staff were very helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. Bathrooms updated and the beds very comfortable. In a very safe neighborhood with expensive homes around. Short walk to restaurants. This hotel lodge has the feel of a very nice and very personable bed and breakfast. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: call with questions. Staff is wonderfully helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gregory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

We regularly visit family in Dublin, and like to stay nearby their home. Sandymount is a lovely traditional Dublin neighborhood where the Aberdeen Lodge is located. It's one of the nicest areas of Dublin, and in spring, is particularly beautiful, with lots of flowering trees and shrubs, and lovely sea air. Only 5-10 minutes walk from the Aberdeen, you can enjoy a stroll along the beach at Dublin Bay. We used the public transportation to get downtown, and both the bus and the train stop are within minutes of the Lodge, and downtown Dublin is just 10-15 minutes away.

In addition to the pleasant accommodations, the highlights of our stay at the Aberdeen are the delicious hot breakfasts and the lovely tea and homemade cookies served in the beautiful garden, or in the drawing room (when my 4-year old granddaughter saw it, she called it 'posh'!). The international staff are also so helpful and accommodating. There is no lift in the hotel, however staff were readily available to help us with our luggage up (and down) the stairs to our 2nd floor room. We look forward to our next trip to Dublin and to the Aberdeen.

Room Tip: We have stayed several times at the Aberdeen Lodge, and have tried several different rooms. We regu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millipumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We Stayed for five days in sept2013..next time in Dublin we will stay here again for sure. Price was fair and service was wonderful..convenient to public transportation and there's a nice neighborhood square nearby and a short walk to the beach. The property is well maintained and squeaky clean. Highly recommend this for a Dublin stay and we actually preferred staying on the south of downtown.
Hank & Vicki Hester...Scottsdale, Arizona.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank hghester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

I must say this hotel is absolutely brilliant! All the staff make you feel so welcome from the minute you walk through the door.
A nice fresh pot of tea with a home made cookie greets you while your bags are taken to the room.
The Irish breakfast is great and highly recommended. If you want a home from home and take a few hours off from the city then look no further.
Will be back here next time we visit this great city! Great transport links to get you back into the city.
Big thank you to all the staff for making us feel so welcome :)

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Marcus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

i really enjoyed my stay here. being disabled i was a bit hesitant, but the owner and staff really made me and my niece feel at home here. they carried our bags, upgraded our twin room to their suite at no extra charge, which had 2 separate bedrooms, 2 bthrms and loads of space. the accommodation was luxurious and the staff even charged my scooter battery every night and returned it to my car. so helpful and as we weren't able to use dart service, which was included in our voucher, they very kindly gave us a free meal at a lovely local italian restaurant on them, which was scrumptious. the drawing room was where we were offered a pot of tea and coffee and home baked cookies when we got in from our days/evenings out. even offered it up in our rooms if required, although loved sitting in drawing room, especially with their lovely cat, paws. pat gave us a map and pointed everywhere we wanted to see out and even told us where we could park in disabled areas.

rooms were serviced every day and the beds were soooooo comfy! loved all the traditional antique furniture and nik naks around the place. very homely.

just outside of busy town centre, which was great, as it felt such a calm, tranquil place to stay.

one evening they invited us down for a champage toast with them. very nice touch.

daniel was a lovely chatty guy and nothing ever seemed too much to ask him. he often got out of bed early morning or late at night to deal with my scooter battery, bless him.

the kitchen staff were very friendly, polite and laid out a beautiful breakfast bar full of goodies which you helped yourselves to whilst they cooked your breakfast....good quality food. lovely dining room and view to pretty garden.

i will definitely return to this wonderful place....you just try and stop me lol.

well done to you all and thanks again.

christine and claire.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chrissy181961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
3.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,354 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,525 reviews
2.8 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,107 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberdeen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdeen Lodge

Property: Aberdeen Lodge
Address: 53 - 55 Park Avenue | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#11 Family Hotel in Dublin
#18 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#61 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aberdeen Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect balance of luxury, privacy and location. Aberdeen Lodge Ballsbridge is one of Dublin's gems, discretely hidden in the exclusive embassy district of Ballsbridge. Large well-kept gardens surrounding grand mansions give the place an air of refined exclusivity. Aberdeen Lodge Hotel Ballsbridge Dublin shares all these privileges. The elegant rooms and suites in this urban estate include four poster beds, period furnishings and views of the attractive gardens. The award winning breakfast is served in the period style dining room overlooking the landscaped gardens. Afternoon teas and fine wines are served in the main drawing rooms and library where guests can relax. Staff are extremely welcoming and are happy to assist guests in arranging city and countryside tours. Complimentary secure guest car parking is available onsite at Aberdeen Lodge Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aberdeen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberdeen Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing