We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great base for Dublin visitors”
Review of Aberdeen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aberdeen Lodge
Ranked #6 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Austin
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great base for Dublin visitors”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Extremely comfortable, hospitable, quiet, and charming. Michael Halpin is a very good host, and his staff was terrific. (Thanks, Daniel!). Four of us stayed for several days, and every afternoon or evening Daniel saw us coming he readied the whiskey glasses and ice for us. A fine lad! Mr. Halpin was also very helpful to me in January when I made the reservation, by suggesting other places to stay during our golf junket. And his major suggestion was the only place we stayed that compared with his. This is a very nice B&B hotel, exactly what we wanted, and not a major hotel with all services. But they are really good people. When I reserved I also booked our last night before flying back to the States with them. And then I asked whether they could stow our golf cases for us until we came back through, so the car would be a bit less crowded. Not a problem! An altogether good place to stay. A brisk walk through a leafy residential neighborhood from the hotel into Sandy Mount for several nice dining options, or a shorter walk to the rail stop for an 8 minute commute to Trinity College area for sightseeing and more dining and pub choices. Thank you, Aberdeen Lodge, for getting a great trip off to a great start!

Room Tip: I'm not sure there is a bad room in the house, but don't be shy about asking for some help l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DougTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    99
    29
    12
    3
See reviews for
129
273
35
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield Park, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I can honestly say that this B&B and their staff made my vacation, it was the icing on the cake. For starters, the location was perfect. It is located in a residential area, yet within minutes you can find yourself in the center of all the action in Dublin. The place itself was very quaint and looked as if everything was out of a painting. Words can not fully describe how wonderful and accommodating the staff was. They were all so warm and welcoming. Anytime I needed anything or had a question they were more than happy to assist me. I am so happy
that TripAdvisor helped me find this place and I will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hailey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We started and ended our first visit to Ireland staying at Aberdeen Lodge. To visit Dublin, this is an ideal option. Only four stops off the DART from Pearse Station in the center of Dublin, this is a high end B&B in terms of accommodations & service; yet you experience a true family atmosphere as well. Ann was expecting when we left and delivered by the time we returned. Patrick and Ann, owners, and staff never missed a beat. Daniel welcomes evenings with a smile and complementary tea, coffee, etc. (don't forget to ask for cookies as well). Special breakfast requests off the menu are honored too! Every staff member is knowledgeable for directions, recommendations, etc.; a perfect blend of class and comfort, we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms have different bed options. Make sure you clarify what you want; king v full and twin, and boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jasmarilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We had booked to stay in their sister property which had closed down as we'd stayed there before but I'd no grounds to worry.
We were warmly met with tea, coffee and freshly baked treats. Our rooms were huge - our son was thrilled with his adjoining room!
Breakfast was gorgeous - scrambled egg and salmon - sublime!
It's slightly out of our normal budget but you are treated like royalty and sitting in the larger, comfy chairs, you feel like it too!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkinnyminnyMoo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Location of inn offers a nice, quiet alternative to a downtown hotel. Short walk to public transport and then 10 minutes into Dublin. We took advantage of the great weather and walked along the strand into Sandymount for a very good dinner at Browne's - a late night in a pub wasn't what we were looking for with two small kids. Pat was very helpful with suggesting things to do in Dublin with kids.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMAMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This a guest house, not a hotel. I wouldn't even give in the privilege of being a B & B, it isn't charming enough. The owner is kind of a jerk, and the rest of the staff are international college students, who are actually very nice. The location is in a quaint and quiet area, but not very convenient w/o a car. The rooms are tiny, and absolutely need to be renovated. The person who mentioned it being "a little tired" was being incredibly generous. Thin walls, and very noisy. There were five channels available on the very small 20 year old television. Shower was in disrepair, and when I told the staff about it, a young man came up to fix it armed with a screwdriver and kitchen knife... He didn't fix it either, but instead adjusted it from freezing to almost scalding. Very cheap, (rag quality) towels, and low quality toiletries. Breakfast is not good, all the fruit is canned or frozen, and nothing is seasoned. I cannot believe how much I paid to stay there! Do yourself a favor, & keep looking!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Meg1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This petite hotel/B&B is located in a nice suburban area outside of Dublin. It is safe and there is easy access into Dublin on the Dart (the station is a 5 minute walk). Likewise, it is only a 5-10 minute walk into the local villiage of Sandymount to grab a bite to eat or 5-10 minutes to the beach. The staff was extremely nice and helpful as was the owner. Breakfast was excellent as was the tea and snack in the reading room. Our family room was two ensuite bedrooms connected via an internal door and was spacious. The main issue we had with this hotel was the floors were so squeaky from the room above us that we were kept up until 1am both nights we stayed there. This was the only hotel out of the 12 we stayed in during our few weeks in Ireland were we had any noise issues in our room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelopalooza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
3.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,506 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 151 in Dublin
1,591 reviews
2.8 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,141 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,252 reviews
1.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberdeen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdeen Lodge

Property: Aberdeen Lodge
Address: 53 - 55 Park Avenue | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#11 Family Hotel in Dublin
#18 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#61 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aberdeen Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect balance of luxury, privacy and location. Aberdeen Lodge Ballsbridge is one of Dublin's gems, discretely hidden in the exclusive embassy district of Ballsbridge. Large well-kept gardens surrounding grand mansions give the place an air of refined exclusivity. Aberdeen Lodge Hotel Ballsbridge Dublin shares all these privileges. The elegant rooms and suites in this urban estate include four poster beds, period furnishings and views of the attractive gardens. The award winning breakfast is served in the period style dining room overlooking the landscaped gardens. Afternoon teas and fine wines are served in the main drawing rooms and library where guests can relax. Staff are extremely welcoming and are happy to assist guests in arranging city and countryside tours. Complimentary secure guest car parking is available onsite at Aberdeen Lodge Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aberdeen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberdeen Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing