We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Guesthouse Style”
Review of Aberdeen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aberdeen Lodge
Ranked #6 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We had booked to stay in their sister property which had closed down as we'd stayed there before but I'd no grounds to worry.
We were warmly met with tea, coffee and freshly baked treats. Our rooms were huge - our son was thrilled with his adjoining room!
Breakfast was gorgeous - scrambled egg and salmon - sublime!
It's slightly out of our normal budget but you are treated like royalty and sitting in the larger, comfy chairs, you feel like it too!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SkinnyminnyMoo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (598)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 598 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

Location of inn offers a nice, quiet alternative to a downtown hotel. Short walk to public transport and then 10 minutes into Dublin. We took advantage of the great weather and walked along the strand into Sandymount for a very good dinner at Browne's - a late night in a pub wasn't what we were looking for with two small kids. Pat was very helpful with suggesting things to do in Dublin with kids.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMAMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This a guest house, not a hotel. I wouldn't even give in the privilege of being a B & B, it isn't charming enough. The owner is kind of a jerk, and the rest of the staff are international college students, who are actually very nice. The location is in a quaint and quiet area, but not very convenient w/o a car. The rooms are tiny, and absolutely need to be renovated. The person who mentioned it being "a little tired" was being incredibly generous. Thin walls, and very noisy. There were five channels available on the very small 20 year old television. Shower was in disrepair, and when I told the staff about it, a young man came up to fix it armed with a screwdriver and kitchen knife... He didn't fix it either, but instead adjusted it from freezing to almost scalding. Very cheap, (rag quality) towels, and low quality toiletries. Breakfast is not good, all the fruit is canned or frozen, and nothing is seasoned. I cannot believe how much I paid to stay there! Do yourself a favor, & keep looking!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
7  Thank Meg1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This petite hotel/B&B is located in a nice suburban area outside of Dublin. It is safe and there is easy access into Dublin on the Dart (the station is a 5 minute walk). Likewise, it is only a 5-10 minute walk into the local villiage of Sandymount to grab a bite to eat or 5-10 minutes to the beach. The staff was extremely nice and helpful as was the owner. Breakfast was excellent as was the tea and snack in the reading room. Our family room was two ensuite bedrooms connected via an internal door and was spacious. The main issue we had with this hotel was the floors were so squeaky from the room above us that we were kept up until 1am both nights we stayed there. This was the only hotel out of the 12 we stayed in during our few weeks in Ireland were we had any noise issues in our room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelopalooza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Just got back from a long weekend staying at Aberdeen Lodge in Dublin, (18-21 Jul 13) having read some recent negative reviews was concerned prior to going, on reflection now there is some substance to previous comments but on the whole I think the stay was very relaxing for us. Location is in a very nice area of Dublin, a short 20 min ride on the Dart and a five minute walk to the lodge. Great local places to eat and drink in nearby Sandymount village that I would recommend, as is a pleasant stroll along the beachfront which is only 10 minutes from the lodge.
Having stayed in various hotels how would I rate Aberdeen Lodge? As my partner commented it has huge potiential but requires some tender loving care and some updating, whilst still being sympathetic to the origins of the building, if completed it would transform the lodge. Cleanliness is good and the staff friendly and helpful throughout our stay from our experience.
Our room was a good size, though I expect in todays market and for the price being paid some more modern appliances (TV for example), however free use of laptop and internet in the public rooms,and simple things like a quilt rather than sheets and blankets would give a more modern feel, there are no tea making facilities in the room but the staff will make you tea whenever your require it.
On the whole we like a nice quiet location, this fits the bill nicely, the Aberdeen Lodge to us looks a little tired, but it could be fab.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

(1) Despite booking months in advance, my sixty-something mother and I arrived after a cross-country drive (6+ hours in the car) to find that the twin room we had booked, and confirmed via email, was no longer available. No explanation, no apology, no nothing. Instead of offering us tea and cookies, like all of the glowing reviews on here claim they got, the couldn't-care-less receptionist shoved us into a crummy attic room with a full-size bed. My mother has a bad back, so not only would we have to share a tiny bed, she'd have to drag up four flights of stairs (with heavy luggage!) for the privilege. Notice that nowhere on Aberdeen's website do they mention that this is a four-story walkup, no elevator...

(2) When I asked the lackadaisical receptionist for an explanation for why we were not receiving the room we explicitly booked and paid a deposit on, she shrugged and said, "I don't know how the reservations system works." At that point, I asked to speak to owner Pat Halpin—not an outrageous request considering that every other B&B we stayed at in Ireland, the owner was always the first to greet you and the last to see you off. "He's busy. He's in a meeting," she claimed. At 9:30 on a Friday night? "Yes." Well, okay, please have me call him when he's out of the meeting. "That won't be for hours." That's okay; we'll wait. "No, sorry, I don't think that's possible." Excuse after excuse after excuse. Needless to say, the owner never called. And why would he? He doesn't give two flips. This was NOT the Irish hospitality we had come to expect and enjoy in our ten days' of traveling.

(3) Let's talk about this lovely attic room: It was sweltering hot, being on the fourth floor and all, and of course there was no fan or A/C. "Just open a window" said Unhelpful Front Desk Girl. We opened two, but it was still unbearable. The room was also shabby as all get out: fraying bed linens, worn-down furniture, a moldy tub, and a toilet whose handle you practically had to step on to get it to flush. We stayed in several B&Bs on this trip that were a fraction of the price and offered far superior accommodations.

(4) Because the heat in this nanoscopic room on the fourth floor forced us to keep the windows open, we got to listen to the neighbor's dog bark all night long. I mean, ALL NIGHT LONG—hours and hours and hours. No one shut it up. No one said a word. Surely this can't be a fluke? It wouldn't have been a huge deal if you could shut the windows, but oh, that's right, it's 300 degrees in the attic hovel.

Moral of the story: TripAdvisor really let us down on this one. We stayed one night and not a minute more, and I can safely say that our Aberdeen experience was the absolute lowest point on our whole trip, which was otherwise wonderful. Do yourself a favor and book elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank gadfly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is more like a guest house, although it is advised as a hotel. The hotel and our room in particularly were beautifully decorated, bright, clean and very comfortable. The building is very old, and full of character. The location is excellent - a short train ride to central Dublin. The neighbourhood is charming, with well maintained pretty houses, and a shopping centre just a few minutes stroll away. The hotel had a lovely guest lounge, and spacious & bright breakfast room, with large glass doors leading to the garden. The staff were kind & helpful. Help was offered to bring our bags up the stair (there was no lift), and on our arrival, a member of the staff spent approx 20minutes with us, giving us some helpful info on things to see & do in Dublin. There were no tea & coffee making facility in our room, however always someone on the front desk & we were offered a tea or coffee whenever we passed by the front desk.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.8 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,190 reviews
3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,682 reviews
1 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 150 in Dublin
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#12 of 150 in Dublin
4,695 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,485 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
2,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberdeen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdeen Lodge

Address: 53 - 55 Park Avenue | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#11 Family Hotel in Dublin
#18 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#61 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $133 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aberdeen Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect balance of luxury, privacy and location. Aberdeen Lodge Ballsbridge is one of Dublin's gems, discretely hidden in the exclusive embassy district of Ballsbridge. Large well-kept gardens surrounding grand mansions give the place an air of refined exclusivity. Aberdeen Lodge Hotel Ballsbridge Dublin shares all these privileges. The elegant rooms and suites in this urban estate include four poster beds, period furnishings and views of the attractive gardens. The award winning breakfast is served in the period style dining room overlooking the landscaped gardens. Afternoon teas and fine wines are served in the main drawing rooms and library where guests can relax. Staff are extremely welcoming and are happy to assist guests in arranging city and countryside tours. Complimentary secure guest car parking is available onsite at Aberdeen Lodge Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aberdeen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberdeen Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing