We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aberdeen Lodge, Ballsbridge, Dublin”
Review of Aberdeen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aberdeen Lodge
Ranked #8 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Have just returned from a 3 night stay. The hotel was in a very select area & well positioned for the local DART train service for Dublin and the coast and we would rate our stay very highly.

The staff were a delight being very friendly & efficient and Pat, mine host, was very professional and helpfull and attended to our every need. Irish or continental breakfasts were of the highest order......................but the Irish one was best!!

Our rooms were of good size, clean & comfortable with free wifi and the rear garden was very pleasant with large lawn & plenty of trees/shrubs. There are a number of pubs & restaurants within a 10 minute walk and the sea was about 5 mins stroll away.

Would definitely stay here if we pass this way again.

Room Tip: We were at the rear, overlooking the garden and were very satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ukJimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (604)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 604 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

I can't recommend this wonderful hotel more highly. My gosh, such a smiling, hospitable welcome, from Pat Helpin to the charming young ladies, who all do everything to make you feel pampered. "private hotel" really is the proper nomenclature, because it is so much more private than many inns or certainly b&b's. it's a very pretty, generally quiet neighborhood, and I enjoyed (albeit with perfect weather) the less- tha-ten-minute walk to Sydney Palace DART station for the short ride (again 10 minutes maybe, 4 quick stops) to Pearce Street station, near Trinity College/city center (€3.50 round trip). Breakfast was superb (several choices, including full Irish, scrambled eggs with smoked salmon and chives, poached eggs, and more, together with cereals, breads, fruit). Each evening, when I returned home late after exploring the city and rang the doorbell, the door was promptly answered by one of the smiling young ladies (I'm afraid heir names are forgotten) and offered tea or coffee:wonderful. Rooms are amply sized, though they are walk- ups (mine was on the 3rd -4th to Americans- floor), with complimentary shampoo, lotion, etc, terry cloth robes and slippers). The mattress was just the right firmness for me, though I would have preferred something other than the foam pillows. I loved staying here- far preferable for me at least to noisier and less peaceful surroundings in the central part of Dublin. There are some restaurants in nearby Sandy Mount, supposedly only a ten minute walk, but I took a wrong turn trying to find them and never got there. All in all, a wonderful spot, which I feel blessed to have found!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
7  Thank aowats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very nice and quiet place. Easy access by DART and not too far from Dublin's city center. Restaurants nearby for lunch and dinner. Breakfast served at the hotel and is just great with many choices and a nice buffet with lots of fruits and cereals. The host is very nice and everybody is polite and always happy to help if needed. Great place to go if you are looking for a quiet neighborhood in Dublin.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MarcelDidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

A short ride on DART to Sydney Parade and a 5 minute walk take you to this elegant hotel away from the city center. Exceptional hosts, tea & coffee always offered and beautifully served. Lovely breakfast. Blocks from the beach & walking distance to Sandymount & Ballsbridge. Very special place.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank MaryG152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Our family of 4 (parents and two college aged daughters) spent 2 nights in 2 rooms here. Located in a quiet residential neighborhood, a short train ride from central Dublin, we found the rooms very comfortable, the breakfasts wonderful, and the reception and service exceeding expectations. We were given great advise about restaurants and activities in Dublin. When we accidentally left our passports in our room, they contacted us to assure that they were safe then went on to forward them overnight to us via another inn we planned to be staying in before returning to the States. Top notch lodging in Dublin!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tasdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Located on the south side of dublin, the hotel is in a leafy quiet street, 2 minutes from the train station and a 10 minute (3 Euro return) journey to the city centre. There are plenty parking spaces at the hotel which is a lovely house with large garden. The welcome was very warm, and we were offered coffee or tea and cakes, and were given some maps of dublin and the local area of Sandymount village which is a 10 minute walk where there is a village green with shops and restaurants. Our large room was really tastefully decorated with everything you would expect from a good hotel. The window overlooked the lovely well cared for garden. Breakfast was excellent with a wide selection to choose from. Everyone at the hotel was so friendly and we were asked constantly if we would like tea or coffee and cake, which was a really good touch. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CultureSeeker_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We recently spent a few days in Dublin, and stayed at the Aberdeen Lodge hotel on our final evening. Only a short walk from the train station, it is located in a beautiful, leafy, suburban street and is a very attractive building, with plenty of parking in the drive. Welcomed into a lovely drawing room, we were offered tea or coffee and delicious home made biscuits, and given a map of Dublin with information about attractions and transportation if we should need it. We were also given a local map, which was really useful as we were hungry and looking for somewhere to eat that night- our hostess made numerous recommendations about the restaurants in the village, which were within easy walking distance ( we ended up eating at Mulligan's- highly recommended!!) Our room was at the top of the house, and was very large with both a double and large single bed . There was a spacious en suite bathroom with overhead shower and complimentary toiletries, plus plenty of good-sized towels. In the wardrobe were three huge robes and slippers, and a trouser press, with more than enough hanging space. There was a small flat screen TV and hair dryer, and a selection of reading materials, which was a nice touch. Our room overlooked Park Lane, so the view was very pretty, and we experienced minimal noise from the road during the night. Complementary still or bottled water was provided, and tea or coffee could be ordered via Reception at any time ( although we both felt it would have been nice to have been able to make our own if we had wanted to ).Breakfast the following morning was really good- there was an enormous selection of cereals, juices, fruit, yoghurts and soda bread on the buffet table, and in addition we could also order from the extensive menu. I had the scrambled eggs with salmon and chives, and my husband had the full Irish breakfast, both delicious. Service was excellent throughout our stay- the owner and all his staff are very friendly, and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.8 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 152 in Dublin
4,299 reviews
3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 152 in Dublin
4,764 reviews
1 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 152 in Dublin
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#13 of 152 in Dublin
4,778 reviews
1.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#9 of 152 in Dublin
1,455 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 152 in Dublin
3,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberdeen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdeen Lodge

Address: 53 - 55 Park Avenue | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#8 Family Hotel in Dublin
#12 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#18 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#61 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $145 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aberdeen Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect balance of luxury, privacy and location. Aberdeen Lodge Ballsbridge is one of Dublin's gems, discretely hidden in the exclusive embassy district of Ballsbridge. Large well-kept gardens surrounding grand mansions give the place an air of refined exclusivity. Aberdeen Lodge Hotel Ballsbridge Dublin shares all these privileges. The elegant rooms and suites in this urban estate include four poster beds, period furnishings and views of the attractive gardens. The award winning breakfast is served in the period style dining room overlooking the landscaped gardens. Afternoon teas and fine wines are served in the main drawing rooms and library where guests can relax. Staff are extremely welcoming and are happy to assist guests in arranging city and countryside tours. Complimentary secure guest car parking is available onsite at Aberdeen Lodge Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aberdeen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberdeen Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing