We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Quiet elegance” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aberdeen Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aberdeen Lodge
Ranked #4 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quiet elegance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

A short ride on DART to Sydney Parade and a 5 minute walk take you to this elegant hotel away from the city center. Exceptional hosts, tea & coffee always offered and beautifully served. Lovely breakfast. Blocks from the beach & walking distance to Sandymount & Ballsbridge. Very special place.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    92
    26
    12
    3
See reviews for
118
253
34
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Our family of 4 (parents and two college aged daughters) spent 2 nights in 2 rooms here. Located in a quiet residential neighborhood, a short train ride from central Dublin, we found the rooms very comfortable, the breakfasts wonderful, and the reception and service exceeding expectations. We were given great advise about restaurants and activities in Dublin. When we accidentally left our passports in our room, they contacted us to assure that they were safe then went on to forward them overnight to us via another inn we planned to be staying in before returning to the States. Top notch lodging in Dublin!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tasdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Located on the south side of dublin, the hotel is in a leafy quiet street, 2 minutes from the train station and a 10 minute (3 Euro return) journey to the city centre. There are plenty parking spaces at the hotel which is a lovely house with large garden. The welcome was very warm, and we were offered coffee or tea and cakes, and were given some maps of dublin and the local area of Sandymount village which is a 10 minute walk where there is a village green with shops and restaurants. Our large room was really tastefully decorated with everything you would expect from a good hotel. The window overlooked the lovely well cared for garden. Breakfast was excellent with a wide selection to choose from. Everyone at the hotel was so friendly and we were asked constantly if we would like tea or coffee and cake, which was a really good touch. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CultureSeeker_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We recently spent a few days in Dublin, and stayed at the Aberdeen Lodge hotel on our final evening. Only a short walk from the train station, it is located in a beautiful, leafy, suburban street and is a very attractive building, with plenty of parking in the drive. Welcomed into a lovely drawing room, we were offered tea or coffee and delicious home made biscuits, and given a map of Dublin with information about attractions and transportation if we should need it. We were also given a local map, which was really useful as we were hungry and looking for somewhere to eat that night- our hostess made numerous recommendations about the restaurants in the village, which were within easy walking distance ( we ended up eating at Mulligan's- highly recommended!!) Our room was at the top of the house, and was very large with both a double and large single bed . There was a spacious en suite bathroom with overhead shower and complimentary toiletries, plus plenty of good-sized towels. In the wardrobe were three huge robes and slippers, and a trouser press, with more than enough hanging space. There was a small flat screen TV and hair dryer, and a selection of reading materials, which was a nice touch. Our room overlooked Park Lane, so the view was very pretty, and we experienced minimal noise from the road during the night. Complementary still or bottled water was provided, and tea or coffee could be ordered via Reception at any time ( although we both felt it would have been nice to have been able to make our own if we had wanted to ).Breakfast the following morning was really good- there was an enormous selection of cereals, juices, fruit, yoghurts and soda bread on the buffet table, and in addition we could also order from the extensive menu. I had the scrambled eggs with salmon and chives, and my husband had the full Irish breakfast, both delicious. Service was excellent throughout our stay- the owner and all his staff are very friendly, and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Aberdeen Hotel. The hotel is on a leafy street filled with beautiful old homes not far from the DART station. We were looking for quiet luxury and we found it. The hotel proprietor could not have been more helpful or kind. I am having surgery on my knee in a month, so currently have to ice it after a lot of walking. Not only did Pat make sure I had ice whenever I needed it, he even gave my husband and I a lift to the Aircoach bus stop upon our departure. It was so far above and beyond. I do recommend a room on the top floor if you like to sleep in as the floors can be creaky.

Room Tip: I do recommend a room on the top floor if you like to sleep in as the floors can be creaky. There is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
224 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here our last night in town, and we wanted somewhere not located in the city center but still convenient to it. The Aberdeen definitely fit the bill. It's a lovely building in the middle of a residential neighborhood, convenient to the DART and to the harbor with a great walking path. The hosts were friendly and helpful and the room was lovely. Breakfast was really good too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MandoDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 6 night stay at the Aberdeen Lodge in Dublin, Ireland.
From the tea and cookies offered in the parlor the moment we walked in the door, to the comfortable room overlooking the manicured garden below, to the kingsize bed, to the daily flawless servicing of our room, to skilled, friendly staff, to the "works of art" breakfasts and the daily chats with Pat, the owner, we couldn't recommend the Aberdeen more highly. One morning, we were too late for Ann's yummy scones, so she agreed to make some for 3 PM tea that afternoon when we invited our cousin over for a chat. So lovely. Pat and Ann's attention to detail is wonderful.
And because we were without a car, we walked 5 minutes to the DART everyday to ride to the Pearce Station near Trinity College. And once we took the bus right in front of the Lodge to central downtown Dublin. A delightful ride, past the sea and the colourful doors for which Dublin is so well known.
This was our first time in Dublin and we will return! The Aberdeen Lodge will be our first choice!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 154914Pam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
3.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,112 reviews
2.8 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,387 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,971 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberdeen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdeen Lodge

Property: Aberdeen Lodge
Address: 53 - 55 Park Avenue | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#11 Family Hotel in Dublin
#12 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#18 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#61 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aberdeen Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect balance of luxury, privacy and location. Aberdeen Lodge Ballsbridge is one of Dublin's gems, discretely hidden in the exclusive embassy district of Ballsbridge. Large well-kept gardens surrounding grand mansions give the place an air of refined exclusivity. Aberdeen Lodge Hotel Ballsbridge Dublin shares all these privileges. The elegant rooms and suites in this urban estate include four poster beds, period furnishings and views of the attractive gardens. The award winning breakfast is served in the period style dining room overlooking the landscaped gardens. Afternoon teas and fine wines are served in the main drawing rooms and library where guests can relax. Staff are extremely welcoming and are happy to assist guests in arranging city and countryside tours. Complimentary secure guest car parking is available onsite at Aberdeen Lodge Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Aberdeen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberdeen Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing