We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aberdeen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aberdeen Lodge
Ranked #7 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
horley surrey
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2008

We have just returned from two nights at this outstanding guest house, which gives the feel of a small luxurious hotel. It is situated 15 mins outside the city centre, in a quiet residential part of Dublin within easy reach of all the main sights. Excellent staff, who cannot do enough to help and make your stay comfortable. Hotel was spotless and the breakfasts first class. It is so easy to get to the city centre, with the choice of buses or the dart, which run frequently within 5 mins walk of Aberdeen Lodge. There are excellent eating places within 10 mins walk, we enjoyed a lovely Italian meal at Marios. Five mins walk to the sea, this is just a perfect place to stay. If you are looking for a first class place to stay and explore Dublin than look no further than The Aberdeen Lodge. We have travelled a lot and this is one of the best places that we have ever stayed in. We cannot wait to return. It may be that you cannot book via the website, they are looking into this, so do phone and book direct: [--].

  • Liked — Spotless, location.
  • Disliked — it was all first class
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PhilipG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    95
    27
    12
    3
See reviews for
126
258
35
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2007

Beautifully furnished room, lavish breakfast. Great surrounds in an elegant leafy suburb just a 7-minute train ride into the city centre (trains leave every 10 - 15 minutes) and close to a stop for the excellent Aircoach service from the airport.

Staff very welcoming, friendly and helpful - though sometimes there was a language barrier: none were speakers of English as a first language. Sometimes hard to get attention of staff - they were squirreled away in the kitchen - but neither of this issues is insignificant given the comfort and value of the stay in such a beautifully kept home.

I travelled with my nine-year-old and we stayed in a good sized twin room.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdenLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2007

We loved our stay at the Aberdeen Lodge. We wanted somewhere quiet and didn't mind taking the DART just 4 stops into Dublin. The Lodge is in a beautiful neighborhood with no traffic but with restaurants and other necessities just a 5-10 minute walk. The rooms were nice, the facilities updated to be comfortable, and the breakfast was very good. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who doesn't want the noise and traffic of staying right in the city.

  • Liked — Appearance, quiet and location
  • Disliked — the breakfast breads/scones were dried out
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miamitraveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2007

I have stayed at the Aberdeen Lodge twice now and have already made plans to return. The neighborhood is safe and quiet - the perfect anticdote for the busy streets of Dublin. Breakfast is superb and the beds were very, very comfortable. The staff was helpful in planning a day out in the city and greated me upon my return. When you stay here, be sure to take a stroll on the nearby beach. All around, the Aberdeen Lodge is delightful!

  • Liked — The staff and the tea
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank elsa829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2006

Very pleasant stay. Really friendly and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast. Based in a quiet and upmarket suburb, and central Dublin accessible by the DART. No problem parking if you have a hire car.

  • Liked — Helpful staff
  • Disliked — Sound proofing between rooms not brilliant.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelator2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2006

We stayed at the Aberdeen Lodge for four nights whilst the Dublin Horse Show was on. From the time of our arrival to leaving the staff could not have been more helpful.
On entering the property we were straight away offered complementary coffee and biscuits (which were available all the time during our stay), we were given maps of the area, and directions were explained to restaurants, pubs and the RDS. The room No34, on the top floor, was clean and tidy, with a view of the garden.
We ate at the Merrion Inn, which was great. Breakfast in the hotel was excellent, the service I cannot speak highly enough of as they couldn't do enough for you. All in all I would not hesitate to stay here again, or its sister hotel the Merrion Lodge, where we have stayed in the past.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank GG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2006

We generally agree with the other reviewers about the style of the hotel and the frendlinessand charm of the staff. It was a pleasant end to our holiday.
However we ended up paying much more than we expected. We booked 4 Irish hotels, on-line, before we left the UK. The prices quoted by the previous 3 were exactly what we paid, and included breakfast and tax. The Aberdeen Lodge was the only one that didn't so instead of paying the quoted amount of 447 Euro (for 3 nights) we were actually charged 598 Euro, a sizeable and unexpected increase. If we had known that before we arrived we may not have chosen the more expensive "Classic Queen" and perhaps had a few smaller breakfasts.
The duty manager, who has worked there for 5 years, was sympathetic at checkout when I showed him the printouts of all the bookings that I had with me. He said he would get the owner to phone us when she came in that afternoon. As you might guess, we never received a phone call.They obviously don't care that much and have the small print on their side. We booked through Opodo but I note that their own website makes no mention that the rates do not include tax or breakfast so it is deliberate policy.
(Note that the owners of this hotel also own the Merrion Hotel and Blakes Townhouse in the same area of Dublin and the above warning will also apply to them)

Two hints about travelling into the centre. We were worried about not having enough change to get the train back at about 11:30 on Saturday night, but to our amazement the ticket ofices at all the stations were open so it was no problem at all. The second hint is that the buses only accept the correct fare. If you don't have the change-no ride!
Lastly, of the local restaurants Roly's Bistro was excellent and Marios was poor. In the centre (Meeting House Square) we enjoyed the Eden. Good cooking and friendly service

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Godwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
3.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,346 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
2.8 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,101 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,849 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberdeen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdeen Lodge

Property: Aberdeen Lodge
Address: 53 - 55 Park Avenue | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#11 Family Hotel in Dublin
#18 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#61 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aberdeen Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect balance of luxury, privacy and location. Aberdeen Lodge Ballsbridge is one of Dublin's gems, discretely hidden in the exclusive embassy district of Ballsbridge. Large well-kept gardens surrounding grand mansions give the place an air of refined exclusivity. Aberdeen Lodge Hotel Ballsbridge Dublin shares all these privileges. The elegant rooms and suites in this urban estate include four poster beds, period furnishings and views of the attractive gardens. The award winning breakfast is served in the period style dining room overlooking the landscaped gardens. Afternoon teas and fine wines are served in the main drawing rooms and library where guests can relax. Staff are extremely welcoming and are happy to assist guests in arranging city and countryside tours. Complimentary secure guest car parking is available onsite at Aberdeen Lodge Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aberdeen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberdeen Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing