We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful residence and friendly service”
Review of Aberdeen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aberdeen Lodge
Ranked #5 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Beautiful residence and friendly service”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Aberdeen Lodge is a beautiful, relaxing place to stay in Dublin. The staff were very helpful and friendly, always asking how your day was and offering help however they can. Upon our arrival, they showed us the closest amenities and the different modes of transportation for travelling into the heart of the city. We found the DART train (with a stop right around the corner) was the easiest for us and fairly cheap, too. The breakfast was freshly cooked and delicious (I'm still craving those poached eggs) and the service was excellent. The rooms were clean, the beds were very comfortable, and the atmosphere was extremely friendly. I would most definitely recommend the Aberdeen Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    98
    27
    12
    3
See reviews for
129
262
35
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

We picked Aberdeen Lodge off trip advisor and couldn't have been happier. Greeted with a lovely cup of tea and cake we were taken through all the local spots. Lovely breakfast in he morning and they couldn't have been more helpful. 5 Stars.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We've just returned from our stay at the Aberdeen Lodge. Its an outstanding Hotel in the perfect position in a lovely area of Dublin. Great for transport to the city centre,five minute walk to the beach and only five minute walk to the 'village' centre for restaurants and shops. The owners and staff couldn't be more friendly or helpful.We would definitely recommend it to anyone and we will certainly return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Don't worry about being able to get special diets catered for at Aberdeen Lodge. Anne catered very well for me and I am sure she could do the same for any special diet. For me, she prepared a very special and generous salad every morning along with a fruit salad. I felt fully satisfied. This included our last morning when we had to have breakfast at 6:30 am in order to get to our ferry on time. Our vegetarian daughter was catered for very well too.

All staff were very helpful, warm and friendly. This included storing our bikes in a secure area rather than our having to leave them on our car over night. The rooms we had were very comfortable and of a high quality. It was obvious as soon as we entered the lounge that this is a quality place to stay. It is worth paying more for. We liked it so much when we stayed there at the beginning of our Irish holiday, that we decided to stay there on our way back too. This review is therefore based on two visits totalling 4 nights in August 2012. A gem in a a quiet and lovely part of Dublin. The Dart makes Dublin city centre easily accessible.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My Aberdeen Lodge stay in Dublin in August 2012 was terrific. The Lodge is located in a residential area and is actually a 2 story home. Very comfortable and clean with a great breakfast. Best hotel I stayed at in Europe out of 20+ hotels!!!! Staff very helpful, knowledgeable and friendly!!!

Room Tip: Hotel is very quiet. Stayed in 2 rooms on separate nights, one in back and one in front and both we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bear1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Aberdeen Lodge; the service was attentive and wonderful with many good recommendations from the manager. The location is very good- it is very close to the train (with only three quick stops before reaching the center of Dublin) and the town is very peaceful and charming. It was a joy to come back after being in Dublin all day. We had some good meals right in town and enjoyed the pubs as well. Lovely place!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasha35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

After a glorious ten days in Cork and on the Beara Peninsula,, I arrived in Dublin for the final three days of my trip. The good service begins with arrival at the Aberdeen. After a fine Indian dinner at a recommended restaurant in the pleasant neighborhood I strolled "home" by the beach and turned in on the sidewalk, only to step wrongly off a curb and take a nasty fall, suffering a fracture in my shoulder. Many local residents stopped to help and I was treated well at the Irish emergency room at St. Vincent's hospital. When I finally hobbled back to the hotel, bruised with a big arm sling and a lot of pain, I was received with more sympathic and thoughtful service than I could have ever imagined at a hotel. The next three days were painful and since I had been advised not to return to New York early, I spent the majority of time in my hotel room. I was checked on, catered to and treated to wonderful room service from an especially lovely menu. The rooms are large, light and beautifully appointed and mine had a view of the vast green lawn. The bathroom is roomy. The decor of the sitting rooms and hallways is lovely with tasteful antiques and a variety of paintings and historical artwork. When i finally felt able to walk outside, there was a comfortable table in the charming garden to perch at. Everything about this place is classy and comfortable. Although it was not my intention to spend my Dublin visit mostly in my hotel room, I couldn't have been in a better place.

Room Tip: There is no pool or fitness center. I marked by mistake. I certainly didn't miss them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank margaret0c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
3.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,398 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
2.8 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,146 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,935 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberdeen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdeen Lodge

Property: Aberdeen Lodge
Address: 53 - 55 Park Avenue | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#11 Family Hotel in Dublin
#18 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#61 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aberdeen Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect balance of luxury, privacy and location. Aberdeen Lodge Ballsbridge is one of Dublin's gems, discretely hidden in the exclusive embassy district of Ballsbridge. Large well-kept gardens surrounding grand mansions give the place an air of refined exclusivity. Aberdeen Lodge Hotel Ballsbridge Dublin shares all these privileges. The elegant rooms and suites in this urban estate include four poster beds, period furnishings and views of the attractive gardens. The award winning breakfast is served in the period style dining room overlooking the landscaped gardens. Afternoon teas and fine wines are served in the main drawing rooms and library where guests can relax. Staff are extremely welcoming and are happy to assist guests in arranging city and countryside tours. Complimentary secure guest car parking is available onsite at Aberdeen Lodge Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aberdeen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberdeen Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing