We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice View”
Review of Dublin Bay

Dublin Bay
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.87*
and up
Malahide Castle, Dublin Bay and Howth Village Half-Day Trip from Dublin
More Info
$32.26*
and up
Glendalough and Powerscourt Gardens Day Tour
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
444 reviews
224 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Nice View”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The bay is amazing especially on a nice day. There are some fantastic views and walks in the bay area and there is also bay boat trips on offer in summer 2013.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kavo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    13
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Pretty, but Nothing Special”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

On a nice day the bay can be very pretty if up on Howth hill. Playing a round of golf on the public golf course at Deer Park is best way of seeing it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Xaribdis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“comedy by the sea”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Wicked Wolf Comedy Nights
Several of the contenders on RTE’s New Comedy Awards are regular performers at the Wicked Wolf Comedy Night. Mostly newish acts, the standard of comedy here is high, with a varied line-up of six or more comedians. Most nights there’s a shorter slot for a brand new comedian to make his or her mark and possibly be asked back for a longer spot.
Held every Tuesday fortnight, the last one on 21 May, opened with Kat Horan, from Buffalo New York. Kat blew the audience away with her confident, quirky set, which won several applause breaks and cheers at the end. FJ Murray, a stalwart of the club, followed. A former priest, he knows how to hold an audience with his wry, self-deprecating and warm-hearted humour. His sat-nav sequence and asides about Navan made the room erupt. Donal Vaughan is in high demand on the comedy circult. He owns the stage and his sharp punchy lines never fail to hit home.
In the second half, the audience was treated to Aodh Rua, who’d come specially from Cork. He is a young, edgy, charismatic comedian, who doesn’t veer shy of taboo subject and treats them in such a deft and eloquent manner that you have to laugh. Then came brand new act AJ Taylor, who easily secured the promise of a repeat performance with his well written set. And rounding off the night, the ubertalented Adam Cullen, whose comic songs and diffident manner won us over and had us all singing along, or trying to, and then screaming at the tops of our voices. You had to be there.
The room has a great atmosphere – upstairs, overlooking the sea, and the pub’s owner Eugene, himself a comedy buff, is a welcoming landlord.
Usually an amateur night, the club will be hosting pro comedians on July 16th, when Eleanor Tiernan and Chris Kent will be doing parts of their Edinburgh shows. On July 30th, there’ll be an all-female line-up, A Giggle of Gals, when the funniest women on the circuit will take over the stage.
Every Tuesday fortnight. Doors 8.30pm, show 9pm. €5. Tickets on door or www.entertainment.ie

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank annalacey8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great view of the city”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We walked down near the docks late one afternoon and enjoyed this view of the city where the River Liffey meets the sea. Lots of cool boats, different age bridges and beautiful view of some famous buildings like the Custom House.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank WorldWanderer630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“MacCoole Tours to Cliffs of Moher”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We chose the MacCoole Tours trip to Cliffs of Moher even though there were other companies that also go there. The reason we chose it was because they also take you to their family farm where you get a great tour by a family member of the MacCoole company and I have to say we really enjoyed our visit to the farm. And of course going to the Cliffs of Moher is amazing. It is so spectacular.
Being that we went off the tourist season, they didn't have a full bus load so they combined our small group with another tour bus company and although it all worked out, it was a little weird. The MacCoole tour guide didn't come with us so the great stories I had read about on Trip Advisor didn't happen. The bus we were on had one person as the driver and the tour guide. He was very nice and did a satisfactory job but he also had to concentrate on driving so we didn't learn as much as we might have with a tour guide who was focused on that.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 68SusanN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dublin Bay also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Howth, County Dublin
 
Malahide, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Dublin Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing