We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly comfortable central Guest House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Charles Stewart Dublin
Ranked #103 of 150 Dublin B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 15, 2005

Stumbled upon the Charles Stewart Guest House because their sister hotel was booked. What a find!
The staff were the first indication that this was going to be a good visit to Dublin. They were great!
I know Dublin well, and this is a very good location for visiting this walk-about town. I was travelling alone, and my ensuite single was clean and comfortable. I took note of other accommodation, and would recommend this guest house for a budget traveller who can't spring for ensuite. I could tell the hallway bath/showers were well cared for. I was enjoying Dublin's nightlife, so can't offer any information about the included Irish breakfast. Maybe next time.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Environs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

826 - 832 of 1,228 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2005

The Charles Stewart Guest House is situated in Parnell Square, just a few minutes walk from everywhere. Buses are on the doorstep, including the tour buses. Grafton St, the main shopping street is no more than an easy 5-10 minute walk, Temple bar is about the same.
The guest house itself was spotlessly clean. The public areas are well decorated and pleasant. Our room was on the ground floor, which was very convenient. It was very nicely decorated, and was quite spacious. There was maid service every day, towels were replaced, and tea/coffee supplies were replenished.
Breakfast was served in a downstairs dining room. The food was very well cooked and very hot. It was served very promptly.
Staff at the hotel were extremely obliging, and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble, and they were pleased to help with advice about anything that they were asked.
We would definitely recommend this Guest house, and will return there on future visits.

10  Thank airportmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Stevenson, WA USA
19
Reviewed October 15, 2005

We recently stayed at the Charles Stewart for 3 nights, October 8, 9, and 10th.
When we arrived our room was not available so they put our party into 2 different rooms. The room our daughter, husband and baby stayed in was just horrible, the ceiling leaked very badly and they had to be moved to another hotel for the night, the next day when they went to their old room to get their luggage part of the ceiling had caved in over night.
They then put us into a new " family" room for then next 2 nights. The bed spreads in this room were absolutely FILTHY.........I could not even bear to get near them, the stains were so apparent you would have to be totally blind not to see them. We complained and were told to drag the dirty spreads down and they would give us clean ones. We then had to bring the clean ones up to the room and put them on ourselves. The bathroom sink was FULL of hair which only made us more appaled. The draperies in the new room were literally hanging off the windows and the ceiling paint was peeling off and hanging in various places.
We have to admit that the staff and management were very friendly and apologetic, but, nothing could overcome the impression we had of this hotel.........I believe all the Motel 6's in the USA would be cleaner and more appealing than the Charles Stewart.
We stayed out of the hotel as much as possible and just " got through" our 3 nights there.
With a bit of work, elbow grease and some simple caring on the part of the maids and the owner, this could possibly be a charming place since it is so old and has the history, they have simply let it go without repairs or care.
Would I stay at this hotel again.....DEFINITELY NOT!!Would I recommend this to anyone, DEFINITELY NOT!
They did take 70 Euros off our bill, but, they should have paid us to stay there!! It ruined what had been a wonderful stay in Ireland!!

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2005

10  Thank BassettGirlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2005

We stayed at the Charles Stewart for 3 nights at the beginning of this month. Excellent Location, near centre, bus stop from airport stops right outside and open top buses as well. Temple Bar was expensive but cheaper pubs could be found on back streets, would stay at Charles Stewart again if we went to Dublin in the future, very friendly staff and clean rooms, though I wouldn't recommend the room next to laundry room as some noise from dryers, but other wise enjoyed stay

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank carolWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Oxford, UK
111
Reviewed August 28, 2005

My party of eight adults stayed there for two nights and we loved it. It's a budget hotel so no frills but it was perfect and great value for money. The location couldn't be better, twenty minutes bus trip from the airport (bus stops 2 mins walk away) and 10 minutes walk to the bars and restaurants of Temple Bar. The biggest selling point of the Charles Stewart are the staff, all of whom were helpful and friendly. We were given advice on days trips, restaurants and bus routes. We took the 'Day Tour of Wicklow', booked and recommended by the Charles Stewart, this was the highlight of our holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3103
Reviewed August 9, 2005

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Ripley Court Hotel
#93 of 151 in Dublin
1,521 reviews
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Belvedere Hotel
#64 of 151 in Dublin
1,397 reviews
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#87 of 151 in Dublin
645 reviews
North City Centre
Anchor House Dublin
Anchor House Dublin
#21 of 150 in Dublin
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charles Stewart Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Stewart Dublin

Address: 5/6 Parnell Square, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range: $70 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Charles Stewart Dublin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Charles Stewart Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charles Stewart Hotel Dublin
Charles Stewart Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing