We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average centrally located B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Charles Stewart Dublin
Ranked #65 of 162 Dublin B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average centrally located B&B”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

The staff were warm and friendly. Our hotel bedroom was comfortably furnished. The bathroom was in need of maintenance - washbasin cracked, tap loose, bath panel damaged and ill fitting. Walls were thinner than you might expect and so you could hear guests in adjoining bedrooms. The dining room was small and located in the basement accessed via a narrow staircase not easy for anyone with mobility problems. Having said that the full irish breakfast was hearty and satisfying. Located within reasonable walking distance of the city centre/temple bar etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    370
    332
    147
    93
See reviews for
145
381
97
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Recently stayed 2 nights I The Charles Stewart Guesthouse ABSOLUTELY experience. I cannot understand how my extensive research on the property was so deceiving. Terrible the place should be condemned, everything falling apart. No local staff or hospitality. Breakfast awful, would never recommend to my worst enemy and so over Priced!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heather c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

The Charles Stewart Guesthouse is located on Parnell Square in central Dublin. We arrived very early in the morning after an overnight flight from Chicago. A genial old gent welcomed us, allowed us to check our luggage and invited us for a cup- very nice. Our 2nd floor room was one of the smallest I've ever seen- especially the shower- tight, tight, tight! But, what the heck, we only needed to sleep. Nice common sitting room w/ wi-fi. Breakfast was extra, I think 7 €; better off going to the cafe up the block. Overall, pretty good for central Dublin.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back of the house are quieter- Parnell Square traffic is pretty loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rubiomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Had a lovely stay at The Charles Stewart Guesthouse this summer. Our room was traditionally furnished but really nice and clean, with a power shower!!! The guesthouse is really well situated, it's on most of the main bus routes and it is only a short walk from the main shopping streets (Grafton Street etc) and the River Liffey and Temple Bar area. The staff were really helpful. I requested that they put a bottle of Champagne in our room as we went for my boyfriend's 21st birthday and they went out of their way to make it a special trip. I have no hesitations in recommending the Charles Stewart, it was a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: On booking.com it was a bit vague about a double room being a double and not a twin! I emailed a few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TaraMcK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We spent 4 nights at this place and chose it because of the location witch is great. But we never got the internet working and that was a general problem in the place. Witch is not good if you have to be able to send work related mails.
The Irish breakfast was good and you could choose how you wanted your eggs.
Friendly staff and a funny old nightporter. If you want a hairdryer,he will say havent you got the Irish haidryer in your room ? and then he will pas you a towel. Ege a Irish hairdryer !!
Room not as fancy as the fotos .But OK

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvelynCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed at this Guest house for three nights good size room comfy beds .but room needed a bit of TLC. Torn net curtains at the window and a rubbish bin that had done ten rounds with Mike Tyson.In the bathroom which had a good shower there was no hooks to hang your clothes . Ceramic tiles had been laid to the floor ,but not glued down so when you got out the shower they stuck to your feet and had cracked.To go to the dining room you have to go downstairs and this is jampacked with tables . /the staff were very friendly and worked very hard.It is in close proximity to all the main attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chocolate1297_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Each year two friends and I have a trip abroad. This year we visited Dublin and stayed in the Charles Stuart Guesthouse. Located in Parnell Square it is only 100 yards from o'Connell Street and even in our late sixties we found it close enough to walk to Temple Bar, Trinity College, Grafton Street and St. Stephen's Green.
We had a tripple room with two single and one double bed on the ground floor. The room was plenty big enough although some of the bathroom fittings were a little "tired". Situated at the back of the guesthouse we suffered no traffic noise and there was no disturbances from other guests. Indeed, the clientel was largely middle class and middle aged.
The breakfasts were wonderful from the fresh fruit salad starter through to the full Irish main course. Definitely five star!
We booked six weeks in advance and got a very good deal. I would not hesitate to use the Charles Stuart again or recommend it anybody wanting to stay centrally in Dublin.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
Ripley Court Hotel
Ripley Court Hotel
#93 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel St. George
Hotel St. George
#82 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#49 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#59 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,855 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charles Stewart Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Stewart Dublin

Property: The Charles Stewart Dublin
Address: 5/6 Parnell Square, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Charles Stewart Dublin 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS and Agoda so you can book your The Charles Stewart Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charles Stewart Hotel Dublin
Charles Stewart Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing