We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't get a better location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oliver St. John Gogarty's Hostel
Ranked #38 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Reviewed September 16, 2012

4 of us were staying in a private room. 2 sets of bunkbeds, a mirror, a chair and a small cupboard - pretty much like I would imagine a prison cell to be! Bed linen was clean, as was bathroom, though in need of updating. Definitely wouldn't fancy staying there for more than one or two nights but for a cheap place to lay your head after a hectic night out in Temple Bar you couldn't beat it. Amazing location, Abakebabra across the road and, at the end of the day - you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mamalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (751)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 751 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

My boyfriend and me stayed in a double room. The room was small with a bunk bed but yet enough for us. However, our friends had a much taller room, allthough they booked later than we did. We had a shared bathroom which was very clean and smelled nicely. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed that breakfast was included and allthough the choice wasn't that big the most essential things were there. The biggest advantage of the hostel is the location in the middle of the party district. The noises for the party people on the street can be a problem if you have a light sleep or do not possess earplugs. Parking is also available for € 13 a day, which is quite cheap for Dublin city. All in all the cost-benefit ratio is good.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzie_Muenzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Just got back from Dublin and stayed at this hostel right in the centre of Temple Bar. Was really unsure of the hostel status and balked at the tiny room and bunk beds. Gotta say though it works really well! Clean and well run its location is fabulous! Breakfast was included (not that we got there) and the price was superb. Once you get past the shared bathroom and bare rooms its worth considering.

Would definately use again for a stag do.

Room Tip: Try to get a smaller room. The ones facing the front is noisy until around 2.30am but surprisingly t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gazzy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

What a fantastic hostel. Location in temple bar couldn't be any better, and great for local bus services. Friendly & helpful reception staff, room was basis but clean and nicer bathroom than expected. Free breakfast of tea, coffee, juice, cereal, toast, cheese & fruit was great. Lively pub downstairs. Will definitely be staying here on my next stay in Dublin!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerp87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I have just returned from a three night stay at Oliver St John Gogarty's. Myself and three friends rented one of the apartments at the very top of the complex. It was 99 euro per night so between four of us it was excellent value, working out at £63 each for all three evenings.

The location is excellent, could not be more central to all of the pubs and clubs. The desk staff were lovely and very helpful, in particular a young guy called Paddy who had us all laughing with banter.

The apartment itself was really great value. It had two bedrooms, one ensuite with a balcony, a main bathroom, dining room, kitchen and living room with additional balcony. The beds were very comfortable, there were fresh towels provided daily and the place was pretty clean and well stocked with cutlery and dishes etc. The only very small thing was you cannot use the two showers at once for some reason which meant we took longer getting ready but it wasn't a major issue. The furniture i.e. sofa's, chairs, tables etc are all fairly old and a bit shabby but seriously for the price and location this is no big deal!

Food in the bar at Gogarty's is fantastic, we had irish beef burgers with chips, salad and pepper sauce, it was superb. The flavour in the beef was second to none and the salad was made with a gorgeous herb dressing, price was very reasonable too.

It was pretty noisy as the parties go on til all hours, but its easy enough to sleep and we partied hard ourselves! There is no curfew so you can come and go as you like! I think anyone coming to stay in the temple bar area expecting quiet is mad, stay somewhere else if you want a peaceful break!

All in all we were very happy with all aspects of the place and the staff, I would recommend anyone wanting a real irish welcome stay here!

Room Tip: Apartments are cheaper than you think and nicer than the hostel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Katarina L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Hen do away for 2 days:
I have never stayed in a hostel before ( we were expecting the movie experience ha ha ) but i was pleasantly surprised, room was clean and it was a quick and easy check in/out..
We paid for a private room for 8 of us, this had 4 bunk beds, set of drawers and 1 mirror! yes 1 mirror for 8 girls ha ha.
We basically just went for the drinking so this place was ideal, right on the door step of the pubs. We have all said we would stay again for next years hen do. However i would not stay here for a couples or family holiday. Not a holiday place more just somewhere to crash and lock your stuff up.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank bevolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Kinlay House
Kinlay House
#15 of 124 in Dublin
812 reviews
Abbey Court
#7 of 124 in Dublin
1,107 reviews
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 124 in Dublin
2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Isaacs Hostel
#6 of 124 in Dublin
2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oliver St. John Gogarty's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oliver St. John Gogarty's Hostel

Address: 58/59 Fleet Street, cnr Anglesea | Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre , Temple Bar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range: $14 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Oliver St. John Gogarty's Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Oliver St. John Gogarty's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oliver St. John Gogarty`s Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing