We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Perfect spot if you like traditional music

What a great traditional bar. We just love the Cosy atmosphere Hard to find these days. Lovely... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
695eileenf
via mobile
Rare auld trip into a memory of Dublin

Where to start other than O’Donoghues is a very special place in the heart of Dublin that has... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Glenveightravel
,
Navan, Ireland
via mobile
Read all 449 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Dublin
from $23.10
More Info
from $46.20
More Info
from $13.90
More Info
from $32.30
More Info
Reviews (449)
Filter reviews
449 results
Traveler rating
262
131
34
16
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
262
131
34
16
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub great atmosphere traditional irish music jam session front bar live music stew great pint of guinness bar staff black stuff musicians pubs tourists craic ireland characters whiskey
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 449 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2018

A brilliant place to eat - have a laugh and feel at home!
The staff were friendly and went out of their way to make people feel welcome

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank TimeTraveller7266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2018

O'Donoghue's is one of the original homes of Trad Irish music It's a shrine off of St. Stephen's Green, unassuming from the street but with a jewel of a beer garden outside in an alleyway. My bride and I spent a wonderful Sunday afternoon in the beer garden, she playing her Bodhran in an open seisiún and me drinking a pint or two whilst tapping along to the great music. With electric heaters and an awning to protect from the elements, the craic at O'Donoghue's was spot on for an authentic Irish pub experience complete with the friendliness and generosity that the Irish have so cultivated over the centuries. If want the real deal, great atmosphere, toe tapping fun and rubbing elbows with the Irish, head over to O'Donoghue's.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank fatherofthebride563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2018

Our hotel recommended we try O'Donoghues for a traditional pub with music. What a great place! It was busy despite the early hour (not uncommon in Dublin), even so we were quickly served. There were two musicians playing traditional songs at one end of the bar so we moved down and were soon in prime position. As the evening went on more musicians arrived and joined in - all very informal and everyone was enjoying their music as much as the musicians were in playing. Great atmosphere, one not to be missed.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank colinf296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2018

A great old pub with a nice outside option. We stopped after visiting the nearby Archeological Museum for a great Guinness and soaked up the atmosphere. Easy to find. Check out the pictures in the back room.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank masstuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2018

The criac was gleeming. Brilliant music and the atmosphere was on the ball. Just the thing for a Sunday afternoon. Beer and whiskey a plenty and plenty of seats too.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Tel1Guitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews