We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

National Gallery of Ireland
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.68*
and up
Dublin Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off Tour and Entry to Over 30 Attractions
Ranked #59 of 530 things to do in Dublin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The National Gallery of Ireland holds the national collection of European and Irish fine art. Admission is free to the permanent and temporary collections. The gallery is currently undergoing an extensive refurbishment plan and remains partly open to the public during the works. Please note that entrance to the gallery is via the Clare Street entrance.Masterpieces from the Collection is a special presentation of some of the finest works in the Gallery's collection, now open in the Beit Wing and Millennium Wing (rooms 1 - 10). It includes both Irish and European masterpieces.
Level Contributor
123 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful museum! Definitely worth a visit. Audiotour is available in many languages. It contains many foreign masterpieces (van Gogh, Goya, Canova) alongside with Irish painters' (Yeats).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emmeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatGalIrl, Visitor Services at National Gallery of Ireland, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review! We are always delighted to hear that kind of feedback from our visitors. All the news, current exhibitions, events can be find on our website, so you can easily plan your future visit. Thank you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    444
    197
    42
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
208 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Compact but impressive!”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

There is renovation work currently ongoing,which made this small gallery even smaller. However, there were some very good paintings that you could get up close to, to see the detail. Free, of course, so worth it!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rod H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatGalIrl, Visitor Services at National Gallery of Ireland, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review! We are always delighted to hear that kind of feedback from our visitors and we appreciated your consideration at our current size due to our refurbishment project. Refurbishment of the Gallery is scheduled to be completed by mid-2016 so we hope you will come back to appreciate the full wealth of our collection. All the news, current exhibitions, events can be find on our website, so you can easily plan your future visit. Thank you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A tiny gem”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

I really, really enjoyed our afternoon at this museum. It is definitely small, but there are some truly great pieces of art in here, and they're all displayed very close together in a "masterpieces" gallery while the museum is being renovated. As a result, the museum was not at all crowded around 1pm on Sunday when we went, AND you got to see a lot of great paintings in a very concentrated amount of time.

After browsing around for about 1.5 hours, we went to get lunch in the cafe and I was very pleasantly surprised by the quality and inventiveness of the food. It was the best lunch we had in a Dublin and a pleasant break from fried pub food. It was also very affordable. I had a great piece of salmon quiche, with my choice of two salads, I got a couscous salad that raisins, peaches, and a bit of cinnamon and also an heirloom tomato salad with basil in a vinaigrette.

It's a bit far out from the center of the city, but we took the hop on hop off bus tour and it lets you off right in front of the museum.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SNB42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatGalIrl, Visitor Services at National Gallery of Ireland, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review! We are always delighted to hear that our visitors not only enjoyed the wonderful paintings in our Masterpieces from the Collection but also the ambiance and food in our Wintergarden Cafe. All the news, current exhibitions, events can be find on our website, so you can easily plan your future visit. Thank you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Wonderful. Arrived at 10.30 on a Monday morning, and wasn't prepared to actually be so blown away by the Caravaggio painting " the taking of Christ", that I actually thought I would burst into tears. Sometimes we underestimate the power of the influence that such an experience has and the fact that even though I live in Ireland.. have completely taken for granted what the gallery has to offer.. I'm not even going to spoil it by listing the catalogue.. check it out online and I guarantee. You will visit Dublin purely for the experience.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jahogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatGalIrl, Visitor Services at National Gallery of Ireland, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review! We are always delighted to hear that kind of feedback from our visitors. We are very proud to have such a wonderfully moving painting by Caravaggio. There are always events happening in the Gallery and all the information can be find on our website, so you can easily plan your future visit. Thank you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Art was wonderful @ the Gallery!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Was not a huge collection but so enjoyed what was there! Our tour guide mentioned various artists that we found there! Delighted to find this Gallery! The gift ship was wonderful as well!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laurie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatGalIrl, Visitor Services at National Gallery of Ireland, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review! We are always delighted to hear that kind of feedback from our visitors. All the news, current exhibitions, events can be find on our website, so you can easily plan your future visit. Thank you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Gallery of Ireland also viewed

 

Been to National Gallery of Ireland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing