We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Dublin
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 9:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Saint Patrick's Cathedral
from $31.95
More Info
from $67.21
More Info
from $24.24
More Info
from $49.77
More Info
Reviews (7,085)
Filter reviews
7,085 results
Traveler rating
3,530
2,456
860
178
61
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,530
2,456
860
178
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the stained glass windows jonathan swift st patrick patron saint beautiful architecture old church gift shop entrance fee lots of history guided tour worth a visit free tour visiting dublin choir evensong flags worship
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 7,085 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It's a really beautiful church, you can see and feel the history when you're inside. The building itself is a true representation of architecture from the period, and the stained glass windows are a work of art themselves. The only thing that's really wrong with the place is the gift shop, which is located inside the church itself. I've never seen anything like that anywhere I've been, they should really find another solution. After you've seen the church, go take a stroll through the park right next to it, it's a nice place to rest.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Maja I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It is a good place to visit, but fairly small cathedral compared to some in England. Take time and read the different pieces of information about the history of the cathedral. You will about an hour to finish the tour.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Firestarerbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a must do in Ireland - wether you like churches or not - however I do admit that it might be boring if you do not enjoy sacred art. But enjoy the stunning architecture and take lots of pictures regardless. It is unique.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank NayeliVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We happened onto St. Patrick’s Cathedral, as we were staying just down the road. We arrived when it opened (0900 on Saturday), which was a good call (large tour groups started showing up when we were almost done). The price of admission was €8/person, which was very reasonable for what we saw. Recommend you do like we did and go watch the film (midway back on the right) before you start the tour. It provided a great overview of the history of the church and some of the famous people associated with the church. Afterwards, we did the self-guided tour, which was actually setup really well (normally they do guided tours, but I don’t think the guide volunteers work on Saturdays). The self guided map (which came in multiple languages) did a nice job taking you from spot to spot pointing out important artifacts. Besides the map items, there was a ton of other things to look at (plaques in dedication, architecture and a gift shop).

Overall, I’m glad we stumbled onto this cathedral. It contained a ton of history and was really interesting. We highly recommend you try it.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank timrN8194CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2020

My husband & I were traveling around Dublin, Ireland with a tour group through Gate 1 Travel.
We only had a small time allotted to view St. Patrick's Cathedral before heading to Galway but so glad we did stop here!
It was a cool, clear, crisp day and what a great day for photos of this beautiful cathedral and it's grounds.
Perhaps on our next trip to Dublin, we will make plans to view the inside.
Otherwise, this was beautiful to see!!

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank CarolinaNurse323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews