We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saint Patrick's Cathedral

Saint Patrick's Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
$73.64*
and up
Dublin Luxury Small-Group Tour including St Patrick's Cathedral
Ranked #26 of 498 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A magnificent cathedral that houses Jonathan Swift's remains (he wrote Gulliver's Travels). It is the only remaining cathedral in Ireland with a daily sung services. A small entrance fee is charged for tourists and all money raised goes back to paying for the upkeep of the building.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
310 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

A tour inside the cathedral costs 5.50 euro. I have not found anything special in there and I would have avoided it if I had knew it in advance. The cathedral is impressive though. I would recommend to pass there just to take a walk in the garden and take some pictures of the building.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrewsmith62, Front Office Manager at Saint Patrick's Cathedral, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
I was very sorry to read that you did not find anything special in the Cathedral. I think we have a collection of some of the finest memorials, sculpture, architecture and history to be found in Ireland. We do indeed charge 5.50euro for entry but guided tours which take place during the day are free of charge. Any money which we generate through tourism must go back toward the upkeep of this 700 year old building.

Andrew
(Education Officer)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,791 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,831
    1,333
    491
    106
    30
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We heard the chorus sing and it was remarkable. Plus we saw where Jonathan Swift worked and was inspired by the people.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pawsmom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

I must not be as cultured as the other reviewers here, because I was just amazed by this place! There was something interesting to look at in every nook and crany of the cathedral, and the architecture was mind boggling. How they contructed this cathedral without modern tools and machines is beyond me. The stained glass windows were so beautiful, even with the weather gloomy outside. The stone from St. Patrick's Well, where he baptised early Christians is housed here. A short prayer was said during our visit and all the visitors were very respectful during that time. If I ever come back to Dublin, I would definately visit this place again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank pawsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awfully cranky”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

The church was on our must see list for our visit, but was a little disappointing. The cost to get in was 5.50 euros for adults or 4.50 for any student ID (even my U.S. college). My expectations must have been to high, as I've been in a lot nicer Catholic churches than this, but it was a little more of a dedication museum than a beautiful church. Sad to say, I felt like you could get the gist of adventure through Google Images rather than making the journey there. The staff at the store counter was cranky and less than helpful. She kept a countdown of when it was closing down.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WaterboundB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrewsmith62, Public Relations Manager at Saint Patrick's Cathedral, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
I must apologise profusely if you found one of our staff to be in any way "cranky". We get very busy around St Patrick's day and as you can imagine the Cathedral sometimes becomes a stressful environment. I am sorry if you were somewhat underwhelmed by the building itself. It is a little unfair to compare us with Catholic Cathedrals as we are an Anglican Cathedral and therefore the decoration and style are a little different.

Thanks for your visit,

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
136 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful, enormous, amazing history!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Whether you are religious or not, the Saint Patrick's Cathedral is well worth a visit. So much history is packed between these walls. The cemetery is interesting although it is viewed through the fence. Be sure to check out the floors! Just a note, the restrooms facilities are nice and clean! Nice little gift shop that was reasonably priced.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank alr464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint Patrick's Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to Saint Patrick's Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing