We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Long Hall and Book of Kells incredible” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trinity College Dublin

Trinity College Dublin
Book In Advance
More Info
$14.27*
and up
Dublin Historical Walking Tour
Ranked #19 of 498 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The building facade of Trinity College is among many constructed since the foundation of the College on March 13th, 1592. The design is attributed to Theodore Jacobsen, a London-based amateur architect, with the collaboration of Henry Keene and John Sanderson.
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Long Hall and Book of Kells incredible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

Get there early to avoid the lines, but well worth the visit. The book itself is awe inspiring and the long hall is mind blowing if you are a bibliophile. Not too missed if you are in Dublin.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackalcall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,723
    2,752
    732
    85
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great, don't forget Long Hall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

We walked around the campus a bit and then checked out the Book of Kells, it's a lot of reading, but the book is amazing. Don't forget to go upstairs and check out the Long Hall also. It has some great information about old medical practices that will blow your mind with modern technology.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Daydreamingtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
552 reviews
204 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“Amazing library”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

Do the tour for 10 Euro - this is carried out by one of the undergraduate students, and well worth the extra Euro. Our guide managed to include a fair amount of humour in his talk as well as covering the history of the buidlings, etc. After the tour you are directed into the exhibition area where you can see the Book of Kells (no photos allowed) and then through intio the huge and very grand library room.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A piece of history within inches of your eyes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

I was not 100% on board with this attraction to start. I was mainly appeasing friends by joining them on the viewing of the "Book of Kells".
We started with a $10 Euro walking tour of the outside with a very knowledgable and witty graduate student giving us the necessary history. After buying the ticket from him we simply skipped the line and went directly in. I would recommend the self guided audio tour since it will help you grasp all that you see- the symbolism, the history, etc... Once into the viewing area, it was amazing to be within inches of the original latin text of the gospels written in about 560! If you happen to be a Christian, it is truly a moving experience when you wrap your arms around the situation. My only wish is that I could have photographed the page that was open. However, I understand why photography is prohibited. If history, art, and religion are not of interest to you- don't waste your time.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank MooYo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
287 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
“Under Construction...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

There is so much construction going on right now all you can see is heavy equipment, scaffolding, and piles of building materials. Check on the status before you go.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank ksiddel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trinity College Dublin also viewed

 

Been to Trinity College Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing