We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glad we didn't pay”

Dublin Writers Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.81*
and up
Dublin Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off Tour and Entry to Over 30 Attractions
Ranked #87 of 506 things to do in Dublin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Housing memorabilia of Ireland's most influential writers, the museum has a recording of James Joyce reading from "Anna Livia Plurabelle."
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Glad we didn't pay”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We went here one morning after the Cemetery museum and it was very boring and disappointing luckily it was free on the Dublin pass otherwise I doubt it'd be getting two stars waste of time in our opinion only thing we found remotely interesting was the first edition of Bram Stokers, Dracula.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ristyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    140
    70
    26
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Terni, Umbria, Italy
Level Contributor
197 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This museum could be much more than this. Irish Literature has a lot of history and some panels on the wall, some copies of famous books and an audio guide are not worth the entrance fee. Also the bookshop should at least provide a wide choice of books, but it doesn't.
Nice rooms, but also the atmosphere is nothing special. Definitely avoidable and too expensive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gianluca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louny, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Boring”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I visited the museum with a friend, we are both interested in drama and literature, especially written by Irish authors. In the museum you will walk from a display to display, listening to the audio guide and not learning much of interesting stuff. But I can highly recommend the café.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Romana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good quick overview of Irish literary greats but the museum is a bit run down.”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Compact but very interesting museum of Irish literature. But there is a half baked look to the place as if all the designs were in place but then the funding dried up.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoyR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Grove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Writers and Nonwriters will appreciate this!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This small museum is a must for all writers. there is even something for those who aren't interested in writing. The displays are easy to view and informative. the museum profiles famous Irish writers and their biographies along with books and mementoes of the writer. If there is a performance going on, pay the extra and witness excerpts from books by a professional actor- this was fabulous! My nonwriter husband loved the actor, and it helped him understand and become familiar with some of the writings!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Finnbot7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dublin Writers Museum also viewed

 

Been to Dublin Writers Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing