We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food was ok, but beer was great.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Brazen Head

The Brazen Head
Ranked #64 of 2,543 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Dating back to 1198, The Brazen Head is officially Ireland's oldest pub.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food was ok, but beer was great.”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Food was just ok and the service was mediocre, but the history of this establishment is well worth the experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank PWR1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,867 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,564
    944
    255
    61
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“History and good food”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The Brazen Head is the oldest pub in Ireland. The food was delicious but you can wander from room to room and get a sense of stepping back in history. I loved the historic items in the pub. We had lunch in the "coffin" room - called this because there is a coffin leaning against the wall. Some say it just appeared there one night and it has not been opened. Wonderful place!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank fields50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, New York, United States
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Ancient”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had dinner at The Brazen Head Pub in Dublin last week. It's an old pub with lots of character dating back to 1183 and we thought it would be a great way to experience an authentic pub. Unfortunately, the service was indifferent and the food was a complete disappointment. The menu is dated and we sampled the Traditional Irish Stew and the Beef & Guiness Stew at the recommendation of our waitress. The burger wasn't any better. The presentation was as unappetizing as the meal. I would go back to experience the bar scene but would recommend heading somewhere else for dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice bit of Irish History”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

This magic pub in Dublin is a must. The food was spectacular the drink is good. The only thing that lets you down a little is the service. Not that it is bad but it seems like no one really know who is looking after which table and they seem so busy. The live music was good. But the place started filling up quickly almost the minute the band started.

I do recommend this 1198 pub. The oldest pub in Ireland.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is the oldest pub in Dublin- we like to visit the oldest pub or restaurant wherever we go. The food was great and the atmosphere fun. Plus it was easy to find, easily accessible from the hop on and off bus.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank NHSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brazen Head also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Brazen Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing