We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”
Review of Mercantile Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercantile Hotel
Ranked #115 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Filthy, smelly , rude staff in a great location. The owners should rip out every moldy rug, replace the lopsided mattresses, fire the staff and start over.

The potential is there, the location is awesome, the bar was great....the sleeping accommodations appalling. Don't sleep there.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 420 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2012

Well you really couldn't be in a better location for seeing Dublin. 2 minutes from Temple bar, 3 minutes from Trinity College, and on the corner of Dame Street (main thoroughfare) and St Georges Street (full of restaurants - we were spoiled for choice).
Yes, this does mean it's noisy at night. I visited Monday-Wednesday and it was still noisy, so it must be moreso at the weekend. Windows weren't double glazed and to be honest were a little drafty. Take some earplugs!
Room itself was fine, bed was comfy, shower was great, radiators nice and warm although the TV was a little small and fuzzy.
Mixed service from staff - one woman one reception was super friendly and helpful, another was miserable.
Wouldn't recommend breakfast, my vegetarian friend asked for pancakes without bacon. What happened? They came with bacon. When she asked for them without bacon, they just removed it from the plate rather than serving the pancakes on a clean plate, which is not great for proper vegetarians! The food itself was ok but nothing special, go elsewhere!
Overall though, for where it is, it's really excellent value and if you're the sort of traveller who ranks location as the most important factor in choosing a hotel, it can't be beaten

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 797pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed here with my partner beginning of November 2012. Location is spot on! 2 minute walk away from Dublin's famous temple bar, the strip of bars and restaurants and the main shopping centre.

The reception staff were very welcoming and helpful, booked us taxis etc and made sure we made the most out of our stay. The mercantile had a very Irish feel which is what we wanted! spacious bar and restaurant area too. The rooms were cleaned every day which was a nice touch, definitely worth the money you pay.

Would recommend the Dublin Zoo to anyone visiting, by far the best I've ever seen! Also take a walk to St Stephen's Green andThe Trinity College!

Will definitely be going back to the Mercantile for my next Dublin visit! :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica8791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights. Very good location for a good price. Can be considered noisy if you need to sleep in perfect silence tough (it's in the city center in front of the pubs).
The restaurant and pub is also nice!

Stayed: November 2012
Thank Taranael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I recently stayed in the mercantile hotel for a weekend. The room was clean and well maintained.
Food very good. Staff very friendly and helpful. the only issue I had coming from a quiet area was the noise from the street on saturday and sunday night, advise to bring ear plugs. very central to temple bar, shopping and a nice walk for bus aras.

Room Tip: bring ear plugs just in case of room location. or go to bed very late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurenjackmaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My friend and I booked to stay here based on a recommendation. Great location if you want to be in the thick of it. The staff on reception couldn't have been more helpful.We checked in early and we were prepared to leave our bags and go back later,but the room was ready bonus! Yes the rooms are a tad dated the furniture and carpet was well worn,but it was all clean and functional. The shower was hot and powerful. We had a room over the alleyway. There was a vent at the top of the window which meant it was pretty noisy with everyone coming and going in the alley. If you are a light sleeper then this is not the place for you. We both really liked the hotel and found it quirky. The atmosphere in the bar is great. We ate upstairs on our last night and had a lovely meal. Very attentive staff. Dublin is a great city and I forgot just how friendly and funny the locals are. If you get time take the tour of Dublin castle just a few minutes walk away. Grab a bite to eat in Hippity's kitsch cafe just across the road and a meal at Brassierie sixty6 both great. Have only rated as average due to the fact the rooms could do with an upgrade. Its a noisy area but we were fully prepared for that.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room above the alleyway or indeed at the front directly above the bar, or it will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovesholidaysalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed 3 nights early Nov (Sat - Tues). Lovely friendly staff at all times and very amusing at times to chat to! Not sure who would have been on the desk to warrant the odd negative review on here, TRUST ME....they were all brilliant!
Rooms are ok, provide all you need, nice comfy bed and tea/coffee/TV in all rooms.
Bathroom had nice instant hot shower. Ok the rooms maybe need slightly updating but they absolutely fine. Friendly bar and does get busy. Remember this hotel is on a main busy road AND in Temple Bar area so yes you will hear some noise but I only heard some the Sat night and certainly didn't keep me awake!
Didn't eat breakfast or dinner here so can't comment on food. Head to Kylemore Restauarnt/Cafe just over bridge by Clearys store for excellent choice of breakfast menu at very good prices....far cheaper than Temple Bar streets.
Lots of restaurants around the hotel/Temple Bar area will do 2 or 3 course special menu prices. Good one I found is Old Mill Restuarant (see seperate review).
Finally, the airport bus stops and picks up right by hotel. The 747 service is an express service with very few stops and costs 6 euro. The 16 service stops more frequently and is 2.65 euro. All in all very nice stay and def would stay here next time I visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Citi Hotel
#74 of 150 in Dublin
1,063 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#60 of 150 in Dublin
1,212 reviews
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#81 of 150 in Dublin
2,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#44 of 150 in Dublin
973 reviews
The Central Hotel
#104 of 150 in Dublin
925 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#36 of 150 in Dublin
2,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercantile Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercantile Hotel

Address: The Adams Trinity Hotel 28 Dame Street, Dublin 0000, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $85 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercantile Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercantile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing