We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Dublin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Trinity College Campus
Ranked #75 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2006

My family and I stayed here for four nights in July. We contacted the college directly in order to reserve a 3-bedroom suite (for 2 adults and 3 kids). Excellent choice for our family. When reviewing hotels in Dublin, advertisements frequently said "Close to Trinity College," so I thought, well, why don't we just stay at Trinity College? We're glad that we did--everything is within walking distance and our suite was spacious--living room/kitchen area, three bedrooms, and a small bathroom. We had a car, which we parked in a lot in Temple Bar, which was pricey but convenient. The staff at check-in at the college was helpful and it was nice "going to breakfast" at the Buttery rather than cooking something up in the apartment. The kids balked at first about not having a t.v. in the room, but got used to it really quickly. I don't think I would stay here if it was just my huband and me, but it was perfect for a family. It was next to impossible to find a decent hotel in Dublin that would accommodate all five of us--we were looking at three separate rooms at $200/night. Although we paid about $300/night for our suite (may have been a little more), it was well worth the money.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank cindyfromalbuquerque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (520)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 521 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2006

My husband i have returned from Dublin after staying in campus
accommodation at trinity college, i was apprehensive when i booked our stay at the college, when we arrived, we was very pleased with our ground floor apartment!. we stayed in the older style accommodation, block 36 room 02, as you open the front door to the block, the old school smell just hits you, and brought back memories of my old junior school( fab) when we got through the front door we turned left into a corridor and on this corridor the toilet and showers( which were great) situated further along was our apartment. it consisted of a small hall, 2 bedrooms with 1single bed, lounge, kitchen, fridge and storage area. the apartment, and bedding was scrupulously clean.
I only had 1complaint about the apartment, it had no sockets near any mirrors, this made using my hair appliances very difficult, as i had only a small make up mirror with me.The college location is central to all of the tourist attractions, and will be back next year, (with a bigger mirror) lol

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2006

Stayed 3 nights in a 2 bedroom suite.

Pros
Close to Temple bar area and main tourist sites.
The university which obviously houses the accommodation is full of character and history, quite at night.
Great bathroom with a strong shower.
Breakfast is fantastic, huge variety.
Security is good.

Cons
There are only single beds in the 2 bedroom suites.
As the students who usually stay here leave for holidays, they take virtually evrything with them. This means the place is pretty bare. The living room has no TV, but has a full working kitchen but only 2 sets of cutlery/crockery.
Girlfriend tells me walking through the university on the cobblestones in stilettos back to the room is not easy.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Perfect_Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2006

stayed at the dorms in trinity after having to make a last minute trip up to dublin..a big GAA match on the next night meant hostels were sold out.

pro's:
*very very central
*single room with ensuite was big
*kitchenette for a late night cup of tea
*price very reasonable for location and time of year
*sound security guards

cons:
*staff (students i think) at checkin didnt seem to care..only gave very basic details and had to ask for more info
*10am checkout..need i say more? very unusual for any hostel/hotel in ireland.
*a bit of a walk to room but not too bad..wouldnt want to be any further away from the gate if coming in after midnight

overall a fine experience but i would only use it again if i was going up to dublin for a quiet night out...not good if you like late nights and a bit of a sleepin!!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ellenmelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2006

Excellent location, great continental breakfast included in room rate, full Irish upgrade available. Varied student rooms and apartments available, best seem to be en-suite singles offer a good standard of clean accommodation serviced daily.

Access at all times, an historic haven of peace from the bustle of Central Dublin & temple bar areas. Pavilion Bar over looking leafy cricket field and running track, excellent transport links and various access points around secure campus.

Reluctant to post review for this well kept secret.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MAH88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2006

Stayed at Trinity College dorms for one night during a 2-week stay in Ireland (July 2006). It's important to note that hotel costs in Dublin are excessively pricey relative to the rest of Ireland, but especially so during the summer months.

We booked a night here due to its central location and the great price. We had 2 twin beds with a private bathroom (called a "double room en suite") in the main area, and our room faced the college's interior courtyard (not the city). As a result, our room was peaceful and quiet and we slept soundly. After midnight, only one gate remains open and everyone who wants to come onto campus must present their room key to campus security. I felt very safe on campus because of this.

While the rooms are spartan (they're dorm rooms!), they are very clean and quiet - make sure to request a interior courtyard facing room. The bathroom was tiny. My 6'4" husband literally could not fit his body into the shower. It was probably 24" X 24". Bath towels, but no wash cloths, are provided.

There's also kitchenettes on each floor that are shared with multiple rooms. Good for light cooking.

Continental breakfast is included in the price (hot breakfast is an additional 4 euros but really not worth it or necessary), and is served at "The Buttery," the college's dining hall. The continental breakfast offered a nice selection of cereals, yogurts, fruits, coffee/tea, and muffins/croissants. It's served from 8:15-9:30 each morning. We saw a variety of travelers who were staying in the other rooms - families with children, older couples, single travelers, etc.

The "hop off-hop on" open-air buses are conveniently located just outside the main entrance, which was a nice perk, and I'd definitely recommend doing if you're touring the city. (It's 14 euros/adult and offers a 90-minute circule of various city sights.)

I would definitely stay at Trinity College if we were to return to Dublin again. Great price, clean rooms, and the best location in the city.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank 090909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2006

Very much a two-night stay of contrasts: for the first night, I was allocated a single room with ensuite in Block 49. Awful. The pokey room looked straight out onto noisy Pearse St. Result? A near-totally sleepless night caused by the endless traffic, revellers, etc.

For the second night, however, the Accommodation Office moved me to a room in Block 51. Total opposite. A basic room again, of course, but clean, comfortable and ... q-u-i-e-t. I slept like a log.

True, it's a bit of a trek from the blocks where I stayed (no's 49 and 51) to the Buttery restaurant. However, it's a mostly pleasant walk over even ground past old college buildings and lawns, and the breakfast is excellent value for money.

The final clincher? The location. Could not be bettered, certainly not for the price.

So go for it - TCD's the perfect place for anyone on a tight budget or adverse to shelling out on an overpriced Dublin hotel room. But be sure to avoid Blocks 49 and 50 if you don't want to run the risk of losing an entire night's sleep ...

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Britrailers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Citi Hotel
#76 of 150 in Dublin
1,050 reviews
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Drury Court Hotel
#23 of 150 in Dublin
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#48 of 150 in Dublin
938 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#38 of 150 in Dublin
2,333 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#60 of 150 in Dublin
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity College Campus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity College Campus

Address: Dame Street | College Green, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $79 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Trinity College Campus 2*
Number of rooms: 800
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Trinity College Campus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity College Campus Dublin
Trinity College Campus Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing