We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“neutral experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trinity College Campus
Ranked #73 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2006

stayed at the dorms in trinity after having to make a last minute trip up to dublin..a big GAA match on the next night meant hostels were sold out.

pro's:
*very very central
*single room with ensuite was big
*kitchenette for a late night cup of tea
*price very reasonable for location and time of year
*sound security guards

cons:
*staff (students i think) at checkin didnt seem to care..only gave very basic details and had to ask for more info
*10am checkout..need i say more? very unusual for any hostel/hotel in ireland.
*a bit of a walk to room but not too bad..wouldnt want to be any further away from the gate if coming in after midnight

overall a fine experience but i would only use it again if i was going up to dublin for a quiet night out...not good if you like late nights and a bit of a sleepin!!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ellenmelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (513)
There are newer reviews for Trinity College Campus
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

367 - 373 of 513 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2006

Excellent location, great continental breakfast included in room rate, full Irish upgrade available. Varied student rooms and apartments available, best seem to be en-suite singles offer a good standard of clean accommodation serviced daily.

Access at all times, an historic haven of peace from the bustle of Central Dublin & temple bar areas. Pavilion Bar over looking leafy cricket field and running track, excellent transport links and various access points around secure campus.

Reluctant to post review for this well kept secret.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MAH88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2006

Stayed at Trinity College dorms for one night during a 2-week stay in Ireland (July 2006). It's important to note that hotel costs in Dublin are excessively pricey relative to the rest of Ireland, but especially so during the summer months.

We booked a night here due to its central location and the great price. We had 2 twin beds with a private bathroom (called a "double room en suite") in the main area, and our room faced the college's interior courtyard (not the city). As a result, our room was peaceful and quiet and we slept soundly. After midnight, only one gate remains open and everyone who wants to come onto campus must present their room key to campus security. I felt very safe on campus because of this.

While the rooms are spartan (they're dorm rooms!), they are very clean and quiet - make sure to request a interior courtyard facing room. The bathroom was tiny. My 6'4" husband literally could not fit his body into the shower. It was probably 24" X 24". Bath towels, but no wash cloths, are provided.

There's also kitchenettes on each floor that are shared with multiple rooms. Good for light cooking.

Continental breakfast is included in the price (hot breakfast is an additional 4 euros but really not worth it or necessary), and is served at "The Buttery," the college's dining hall. The continental breakfast offered a nice selection of cereals, yogurts, fruits, coffee/tea, and muffins/croissants. It's served from 8:15-9:30 each morning. We saw a variety of travelers who were staying in the other rooms - families with children, older couples, single travelers, etc.

The "hop off-hop on" open-air buses are conveniently located just outside the main entrance, which was a nice perk, and I'd definitely recommend doing if you're touring the city. (It's 14 euros/adult and offers a 90-minute circule of various city sights.)

I would definitely stay at Trinity College if we were to return to Dublin again. Great price, clean rooms, and the best location in the city.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank 090909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2006

Very much a two-night stay of contrasts: for the first night, I was allocated a single room with ensuite in Block 49. Awful. The pokey room looked straight out onto noisy Pearse St. Result? A near-totally sleepless night caused by the endless traffic, revellers, etc.

For the second night, however, the Accommodation Office moved me to a room in Block 51. Total opposite. A basic room again, of course, but clean, comfortable and ... q-u-i-e-t. I slept like a log.

True, it's a bit of a trek from the blocks where I stayed (no's 49 and 51) to the Buttery restaurant. However, it's a mostly pleasant walk over even ground past old college buildings and lawns, and the breakfast is excellent value for money.

The final clincher? The location. Could not be bettered, certainly not for the price.

So go for it - TCD's the perfect place for anyone on a tight budget or adverse to shelling out on an overpriced Dublin hotel room. But be sure to avoid Blocks 49 and 50 if you don't want to run the risk of losing an entire night's sleep ...

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Britrailers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2006

I booked two nights on TCD campus, and was very pleasently surprised. The location is great ( well knew that as I studied at Trinity) the room ( a single with shower) was clean quiet and very pleasent. The staff were great from the office at reception , offering to help with luggage, to the clean staff with a very cheerfull goodmoring to the breakfast staff in the Buttery. I have paid twice and got a lot less from "hotels".
So if your in dublin summer recess try this. The room also has access to shared kitchen with microwave, kettle coffee and milk supplied and also a fridge to store stuff in , this is shared with about three rooms so should not be a problem.
So be brave book ( well in advance I found that it's worth calling on the phone even if the internet site says full)
Will be back and think that if there were a group of people travelling it would be a great option to feel at home ,in the heart of Dublin.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ebarav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2005

Stayed here for 2 nights in Septembre. Was a great location, and we had a nice time in Dublin (you don't need more than 2 days). I would recommend going to Trinity College, but our stay would have been more pleasant if we would have been aware of a few cons.

Pros:
* Great central location
* Clean quiet rooms
* Includes continental breakfast
* Location and view of building 30 is superb

Cons:
* Breakfast is located in fast-food type cafe
* We needed to pay extra for full breakfast
* Despite being told otherwise beforehand, the second room I booked was in a different building (block 47 to 52). The (single) rooms in this building are fine, but the building is in a remote corner of the campus, lacking the nice athmosphere of the central square.

Stayed: September 2005
21  Thank mr_cud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2005

Central to Dublin's tourist area, with the open top buses and airport coaches picking up outside. Grafton Street shops and restaurants within easy walking distance. The college is beautiful.

Unfortunately our accommodation was the furthest from the office and we did pick the weekend of the all Ireland Hurling finals so we experienced some late night noise and had a long walk with quite a few steps to carry out bags when we arrived.

We had 2 rooms with a shower room/toilet inbetween, and we shared a kitchenette/sitting area with another 2 rooms etc in the same flat. The room was clean and comfortable with single bed and its own wash basin, they had provided hand towels and guest soap. C/breakfast was also included.

My only complaint would be that these rooms are meant for students and not for anyone of above average size, getting in and out of the shower was not easy!

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank JoPattern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Citi Hotel
#75 of 150 in Dublin
1,038 reviews
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#48 of 150 in Dublin
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 150 in Dublin
1,500 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#38 of 150 in Dublin
2,301 reviews
Temple Bar
Eliza Lodge
Eliza Lodge
#91 of 150 in Dublin
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity College Campus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity College Campus

Address: Dame Street | College Green, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $95 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Trinity College Campus 2*
Number of rooms: 800
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Trinity College Campus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity College Campus Dublin
Trinity College Campus Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing